Awards Committee

This committee focuses on selecting the winners of the following five APHA Awards:

  • Sedgwick Memorial Medal for Distinguished Service in Public Health, APHA's oldest and most prestigious honor
  • APHA Award for Excellence
  • David P. Rall Award for Advocacy in Public Health
  • Helen Rodriguez-Trias Social Justice Award
  • Victor Sidel and Barry Levy Award for Peace

Committee members are public health professionals possessing rich experience and broad diversity across the public health community.

In 2019 the Committee will have three open positions available for two-year terms.

Responsibilities of the Committee

The activities of the Awards Committee are to review nominations and meet via conference call to select the award winners.

Current Members

Gail R. Bellamy, PhD - Chair 
Term expires 2020

Michael E. Bird, MSW, MPH
Term Expires 2019

Robert H. Keefe, PhD
Term expires 2019

Lynn Ann Short, RDH, MPH
Term expires 2019

José Ramón Fernández-Peña, MD, MPA 
Term expires 2020

Maureen Y. Lichtveld, MD, MPH
Term expires 2020

Staff Liaison: Deborah Dillard, 202-777-2442

APHA Policy on Executive Session (PDF)