Early registration is now open for APHA 2024! Join us in Minneapolis ×

APHA Presidential Citation

The APHA Presidential Citation is presented to a person or organization in recognition of outstanding contributions to the advancement of public health or the public health profession. The citation is not presented every year, but only on occasions of unusual merit. Candidates for the APHA Presidential Citation are nominated by the president of the Association, and the choice is confirmed by the APHA Executive Board. 

Previous Winners

2023    Dolly Parton
2022    Rear Admiral Denise Hinton, MS, RN
2021    Voto Latino Foundation
2020    Anthony S. Fauci, MD
2019    Judith Monroe, MD
2018    America's Second Harvest of Coastal Georgia
2017    C. William Keck, MD, MPH, FACPM
2016    Black Lives Matter
2015    Helene D. Gayle, MD, MPH
2014    Joycelyn Elders, MD
2013    First Lady Michelle Obama
2012    President Barack Obama
2011    Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, MD, MBA
2010    Robert Garcia, JD
2009    Alexander Gatherer, MD, FFPH, FRSPH
2008    Wellstone Action!
2007    National WIC Association
2006    Gay and Lesbian Medical Association
2005    National Association of Community Health Centers
2004    Doctors Without Borders
2003    Diana M. Bonta, RN, DrPH
2002    William H. Foege, MD, MPH
2001    Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton
2000    Donna E. Shalala
1999    Frank Speizer, MD
1998    Ralph Nader
1997    Nelson Mandela,
1996    Laurie Garrett
1995    Byllye Y. Avery, MEd
1994    Rhoda Karpatkin
1993    Frances Fox Piven, PhD
1992    John W. Gardner, PhD
1990    Peggy Charren
1989    Studs L. Terkel
1988    Louis Stokes
1987    Wilbur J. Cohen
1985    James P. Grant, JD
1983    Anthony Mazzocchi
1982    Margaret E. Kuhn
1981    Bill Mauldin
1980    Rosa Parks
1979    Marian Wright Edelman, LLB
1978    Rosalynn Carter
1977    John J. Hanlon, MD, MPH
1976    Russell E. Train
1975    Betty Friedan
1974    The Rev. Jesse L. Jackson
1973    Rep. Paul G. Rogers, D-Fla.,
1972    Rep. Lister Hill, D-Ala.
1971    William D. Ruckelshaus
1969    Isidore E. Buff, MD, Donald L. Rasmussen, MD,
                Hawey A. Wells, Jr., MD, Lorin E. Kerr, MD
1968    Rep. Melvin R. Laird, R-Wisc.
1967    Robert M. Nash
1966    Emory W. Morris, DDS