Last chance to save with early registration for APHA 2024! Join us in Minneapolis ×

David P. Rall Award for Advocacy

The David P. Rall Award for Advocacy in Public Health is awarded to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to public health through science-based advocacy. Priority shall be given to recognize individuals at mid-career whose accomplishments have advanced prevention through policy change. The area of consideration for the Rall Award is international in scope, and nominees may include those working in a government agency, academic institution or non-profit organization.

The award is a tribute to David P. Rall, MD, PhD, who brought scientific research to bear on policymaking in environmental health and whose science-based advocacy advanced public health and prevention across many fields and in many forms. 

Nomination Form

Previous Winners

2023    Pedro Rodriguez Curi Hallal, PhD, MSc
2022    Sacoby Wilson, PhD, MS
2021    Micah L. Berman, JD
2019    Glenn Flores, MD
2018    Emily Benfer, JD, LLM
2017    Claire L. Barnett, MBA
2016    Mona Hanna-Attisha, MD, MPH
2016    Marc A. Edwards, PhD
2015    Daniel Webster, ScD, MPH
2014    Kelly D. Brownell, PhD
2013    John S. Santelli, MD, MPH
2012    Wen-Ta Chiu, MD, PhD
2011    Michael Jacobsen, PhD
2010    Ursula E. Bauer, PhD, MPH
2009    Debra Kelley, MS
2008    J. Davitt McAteer, JD, BA
2007    Ronald L. Melnick, PhD
2006    Adam M. Finkel, ScD, MPP, CIH
2005    Claudia R. Baquet, MD, MPH
2004    Marion Nestle, PhD, MPH
2003    Philip J. Landrigan, MD, MSc, DIH
2002    James Huff, PhD
2001    David Michaels, PhD, MPH
2000    Eula Bingham, PhD, MS