Martha May Eliot Award Committee

The committee focuses on selection the Martha May Eliot Award winner. Committee members include one member from the Maternal and Child Health Section (not nominated by the Section). The other members come from other Sections having strong identification with maternal and child health. The Award Winner serves on the committee for one year.

Responsibilities of the Committee to share the Call for the Martha May Eliot Award Nomination with their colleagues, reviewing nominations and meet to select the award winner.

Committee Roster:

Term Expires 2024

Beth A. Backsin, PhD, RN

Jodi Bower, DHA

Jeannette R. Ickovics, PhD - 2023 Award Recipient 

Term Expires 2025

Arthur R. James, MD - Chair

Jennifer Schindler-Ruwisch, DrPH


Staff Liaison: Deborah Dillard, 202-777-2442

APHA Policy on Executive Session (PDF)