The Epidemiology Section fosters epidemiologic research and science-based public health practice and serves as a conduit between the epidemiologic research community and users of scientific information for the development, implementation and evaluation of policies affecting the public's health.

Microscopic image of cellsBoy being fed medicine


Chair: Laurie Elam-Evans, PhD, MPH

Chair-Elect: Tiffany Gary-Webb, PhD, MHS

Immediate Past-Chair: Oscar Alleyne, DrPH

Membership Chair: Erica Smith, MPH

Award Chairs: Tiffany Gary-Webb, PhD, MHS & Laurie Elam-Evans, PhD, MPH

Booth Coordinator: Kristen Cowan

Communications Chairs: Suparna Navale, MS, MPH & Charlotte Huntley, PhD

Mentoring Chairs: Marian Passannante, PhD & Christine Arcari, PhD, MPH

Nomination Chair: Oscar Alleyne, DrPH

Policy Chairs: Sonja Hutchins, MD, MPH, PhD & Robin Taylor Wilson, MA, PhD

Program Committee Chair: Kesha Baptiste-Roberts, MPH, PhD & Siobhan Maty, PhD, MPH

Social Media Coordinator: Charlotte Huntley, MPH, PhD

Student Liason: Haley Greene, MPH

Web Editor: Angel Algarin, MPH

If you are interested in becoming involved in any of the above committees, please consider signing up here!

Governing Councilors:

Section Councilors:


  • Network with other epidemiologists.
  • Have an impact on national health policy supported by APHA. 
  • Participate in Epidemiology Section leadership. 
  • Influence the Epidemiology Section program at the APHA Annual Meeting.


Short on time? Consider other ways to be more involved in our Section:

  • Respond to an advocacy alert.
  • Post field-related information or opportunities on your online community/listserv.
  • Encourage a colleague to join APHA.
  • Review abstracts.
  • Join a committee (advocacy, communication, membership, etc.).
  • Participate in our monthly business meetings.

Contact Erica Smith to learn more.

Epidemiology Section Awards:

The Epidemiology Section Awards are an opportunity to recognize Epidemiologists for major accomplishments and contributions to epidemiology and public health. Annually, the Epidemiology section presents four awards:

1. The Abraham Lilienfeld Award recognizes excellence in the teaching of epidemiology during the course of a career.

2. The Public Health Practice Award recognizes the use of epidemiologic methods in an innovative and creative public health program or project.

3. The John Snow Award recognizes an outstanding epidemiologist for excellence in epidemiologic practice or research.

4. The Wade Hampton Frost Lectureship Award recognizes a person who has made a significant contribution to addressing a public health issue of major importance by applying epidemiologic methods.

To nominate someone for one of the above awards, please email Tiffany Gary-Webb with the nominee's name and CV.

Public Health Epidemiology Careers Podcast

Hosted by Dr. Charlotte H Huntley, this podcast explores the careers and experiences of epidemiologists in all stages of their careers. Subscribe, listen and enjoy weekly here!