Disability Section

The Disability Section has a great program for the 2017 APHA Annual Meeting in Atlanta (November 4-8, 2017).

Disability is a national public health issue needing special attention. We can ALL help to make our world a better place for individuals with disabilities.

Handicapped parking signDisabled men playing soccer

Members of the Disability Section are involved with policies and actions focusing on the equalization of opportunities for people with disabilities. These include the promotion of equity in health care and health outcomes, and social change to promote socioeconomic integration.

We come from a variety of backgrounds, including social and rehabilitative services, medical and health professions and social sciences. Hence, our work includes teaching, research, provision of clinical services, policy development and civil service.