Committee on Bylaws

The Committee on Bylaws is charged with reviewing and modifying the  Bylaws as needed as the Association grows and evolves. The committee makes recommendations for changes, which are then reviewed and approved (or rejected) by the Governing Council. If the Governing Council approves the changes, then the changes are promulgated on the schedule stated in the Bylaws. Good knowledge of the structure and functioning of APHA is most helpful in service on this committee.

Amendment or change of the Bylaws at the Annual Meeting requires a two-thirds vote of those voting at the Governing Council, provided that 48 hours prior written notice thereof has been given. The Bylaws may further be amended by a two-thirds vote of those voting at any other meeting of the Governing Council called for the purpose, provided that notice thereof shall have been given at least 20 days prior to such meeting.

APHA Bylaws (PDF)

Chair:  Mitch Haas, DC, MA - Term Exp. 2018

Committee Members:

Jessica M. Boyer, MPH, MSW - Term Exp. 2020

Linda Degutis, DrPH, MSN - Term Exp. 2018

Rita Munley Gallagher, PhD, RN - Term Exp. 2019

Julie Liou, MPH - Term Exp. 2020

Burton W. Wilcke, PhD - Term Exp. 2019

Staff Liaison: Deborah Dillard
Office:   202-777-2442

APHA Policy on Executive Session (PDF)