Early registration is now open for APHA 2024! Join us in Minneapolis ×

Milton and Ruth Roemer Prize

The Milton and Ruth Roemer Prize for Creative Local Public Health Work  is awarded to a local health officer of a county, city or other unit of local government, in recognition for outstanding creative and innovative public health work. The prize was endowed by two devoted members of APHA Milton Roemer, MD, and Ruth Roemer, JD, both of whom envisioned an annual prize to honor a public health worker engaged in innovative public health service in their community.

For the purpose of this prize, public health work refers to organized public efforts, intended to protect, advance, or recover the health of the general population or special populations. Priority shall be given to a health officer whose work can be replicated by other health officers, has overcome opposition, and has mobilized popular support for his or her work. 

Nomination Form

Previous Winners

2023    Allison Arwady, MD, MPH
2022    William Mercer, MD
2020    Sara Cody, MD
2019    Umair Shah, MD, MPH
2018    Irina Gelman, DPM, MPH
2017    Beverley A. Townsend, MD, MBA, FAAFP
2016    Leana S. Wen, MD, MSc, FAAEM
2016    Harold S. Goodman, DMD, MPH
2015    Rahul Gupta, MD, MPH, FACP
2014    Deborah A. McMahan, MD
2013    Rex D. Archer, MD, MPH
2012    Gretchen Sampson, RN, MPH
2011    Andrew S. Doniger, MD, MPH
2010    Harvey R. Crowder, DVM, MS, DACVPM
2009    Mitchell Katz, MD
2008    Thomas R. Frieden, MD, MPH
2007    Stephen Laker, MS, LEHP
2006    Anthony B. Iton, MD, JD, MPH
2005    Harold D. Cox, MSSW
2004    Stephanie B.C. Bailey, MD, MSHSA
2003    Jonathan E. Fielding, MD, MPH
2002    Seth L. Foldy, MD
2001    Harold K. Bengsch, MSPS, REHS/RS, CEPH
2000    C. William Keck, MD, MPH
1999    Nina Sisley, MD, MPH
1998    Diana M. Bontá, RN, DrPH
1997    Mary des Vignes-Kendrick, MD, MPH
1996    Peter Beilenson, MD, MPH