Jay S. Drotman Memorial Award

The Jay S. Drotman Memorial Award was established to recognize the career of a promising young public health professional or student. The award was officially established in March 1979 by Peter Drotman, MD, MPH in memory of his late brother and is presented annually by the American Public Health Association.

Jay S. Drotman, MSPH, was a 27-year-old health planning consultant who was killed in a commercial airline mid-air collision in 1978. An honors graduate in political science from the University of California, Los Angeles, Mr. Drotman received his master’s degree from Harvard University School of Public Health. He was an active member of APHA and his last paper was delivered posthumously at the 1978 APHA Annual Meeting in Los Angeles.

View a list of previous winners.