APHA Disability Section Award Winners

Disability Section Award recipients join a distinguished group of achievers who have made significant contributions to the disability field and to improvements in the lives of people with disabilities nationally and internationally. 

1992 Disability Achievement: Andrew Batavia

1993 Disability Achievement: Ed Roberts & Judy Heumann

1994 Disability Achievement: Hugh Gallagher

1995 Disability Achievement: Cindy Jones

1996 Disability Achievement: John Hockenberry

1997 Disability Achievement: David Gray

1998 Disability Achievement: Tony Young

1999 Disability Achievement: Katherine Seelman

2000 Disability Achievement: Glen White and colleagues
Allan Meyers Award: Allan Meyers (posthumous)

2001 Disability Achievement: Frank Bowe

2002 Disability Achievement: Justin & Yoshiko Dart
Allan Meyers Award: Harlan Hahn
Student Award: Trisha Welch

2003 Disability Achievement: Levi brothers
Allan Meyers Award: David Pfieffer
Student Award: Dot Nary

2004 Disability Achievement: Patrick Fougeyrollas & Gale Whiteneck
Allan Meyers Award: Bobby Silverstein

2005 Disability Achievement: Margaret Giannini
Allan Meyers Award: Liz Depoy & Stephen Gilson
Student Award: Brad Bosee & Ben Moreau

2006 Disability Achievement: David Braddock
Allan Meyers Award: Tom Seekins

2007 Disability Achievement: Peg Nosek
Allan Meyers Award: Jim Rimmer
Student Award: B.J. Kitchin
New Investigator Award:  Thilo Kroll

2008 Lifetime Achievement Award: Elizabeth DePoy
New Investigator Award: Danielle S. Ross

2009 Lifetime Achievement Award: Barbara Altman
New Investigator Award: Willi Horner-Johnson
Student Award: Cheri Blauwet

2010 Lifetime Achievement Award: Rene Jahiel
New Investigator Award: Stephen Gulley
Student Award: Sue Feldman

2011 Lifetime Achievement Award: Rune Simeonsson
Allan Meyers Award: Elena Andresen
Advocacy Award: Eleanor Smith
Student Award: Scott Michael Robertson

2012  Lifetime Achievement Award: Gloria Krahn
New Investigator Award: Jennifer L. Rowland
Advocacy Award: Dennis G. Heaphy

2013 Lifetime Achievement Award: George Jesien
New Investigator Award: Simon Driver
Advocacy Award: A.D.A.P.T.
Student Award: Kerri Vanderbom and Vijay Vasudevan

2014   Lifetime Achievement Award: David Gray
Student Award: Alicia Dixon Ibarra

2015  New Investigator Award: Darcy McMaughan
Student Award: Lyubov Slashcheva

2016 Lifetime Achievement Award: Vincent A. Campbell
Student Award: Caitlin Crabb
New Investigator Award: Randall Owen
Advocacy Award : National Alliance on Mental Illness
Allan Meyers Award: Lisa I. Iezzoni

2017 Lifetime Achievement Award: Tom Seekins
Allan Meyers Award: Monika Mitra
New Investigator Award: Kerri A. Vanderbom
Advocacy Award: Disability Advocates Advancing our Healthcare Rights

2018 Lifetime Achievement Award: H. Stephen Kaye
Lifetime Achievement Award: Mitchell P. LaPlante
Allan Meyers Award: June Isaacson Kailes
New Investigator Award: Vijay Vasudevan     
Advocacy Award: Judy Heumann 
Student Award: Erica Twardzik

2019 Lifetime Achievement Award: Tony Cahill
Allan Meyers Award: Suzanne McDermott
New Investigator Award: Ilhom Akobirshoey   
Advocacy Award: American Association on Health and Disability
Student Award:Lindsey Mullis and Erin Vinoski Thomas