The Carl S. Shultz Award for Lifetime Achievement

This award honors individuals who have made an outstanding lifetime contribution to the field of population and reproductive health. It is named for Carl S. Shultz, a pediatrician and public servant who was instrumental in the creation and implementation of the federal family planning program, commonly known as Title X. At the first meeting of our Section in 1976, Shultz proposed the establishment of this award. Sadly, he died soon after, and Section members decided to honor his memory by naming the award for him. Awardees comprise an honor roll of the field of reproductive health in the US and around the world.

1977 Christopher Tietze 1998 Jack Smith
1978 Fred Jaffe, Carl Tyler 1999 Jacqueline Darroch, Jorge Villareal
1979 Ward Cates, Leslie Corsa, Rei Ravenholt 2000 Malcolm Potts
1980 Karen Mulhauser, Jeannie Rosoff 2001 Henry David, Deborah Maine
1981 Jack Kanter, Melvin Zelnik 2002 Susan Newcomer, Warren Hern
1982 Gerald Clinton, Julia Henderson, Joseph Speidel 2000 Laurie Schwab Zabin
1983 Oscar Harkavy 2004 Philip Darney
1984 Henry Waxman 2005 Robert Hatcher, James Trussell
1985 Samuel Wishik 2006 Stanley Henshaw
1986 Wendy Baldwin, Irvin Cushner 2007 James D. Shelton, Beverly Winikoff
1987 Anne Firth Murray 2008 Marie Harvey, Jill Sheffield
1988 Al Moran 2009 George Tiller
1989 Phyllis Piotrow 2010 Amy Tsui
1990 David Grimes 2011 Francine Coeytaux
1991 Louise Tyrer 2012 John Santelli
1992 Joy Dryfoos 2013 Elizabeth Maguire
1993 Roger Rochat 2014 Claire D. Brindis
1994 Frances Kissling 2015 Judith Helzner
1995 Allan Rosenfield 2016 Nap Hosang
1996 Timothy Wirth 2017 Perry Halkitis
1997 Felicia Stewart 2018 Leslie Kantor

The Felicia Stewart Advocacy Award

This award is dedicated to the memory of Felicia Stewart and her vision, commitment, leadership and advocacy in our field. Stewart's career included serving as deputy assistant secretary of population affairs at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and as co-director of the Bixby Center for Reproductive Health Research and Policy at the University of California, San Francisco. The award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated a strong commitment to advocacy on behalf of reproductive health and rights.

2007 Wendy Chavkin, Lois Uttley 2013 Dan Grossman
2008 Tracy Weitz 2014 Marlene Gerber Fried
2009 Jennifer Frost 2015 Stanley Henshaw
2010 Laurie Rubiner 2016 Willie J. Parker
2011 Susan Stone 2017 Susie Baldwin
2012 Beth Raymond 2018 Abigail Aiken

The Outstanding Young Professional Award

This award honors individuals who deserve recognition early in their careers because of their professional accomplishments, initiative and dedication to the field, especially to the work of the Section.

1994 Geri Lynn Peak 2007 Tara Shochet
1995 Amy Haselton 2008 Destiny Lopez
1997 Barbara Sugland 2009 Angel M. Foster
1998 Margaret E. Greene 2010 Jenny Higgins
1999 Susanna Binzen 2011 Diana Greene Foster
2000 Joseph Winchester Brown 2012 Alesha Doan
2001 Julie Pulerwitz 2013 Vanessa Schick
2002 Jennifer Hirsch 2014 Kelli Stidham Hall, Kristen N. Jozkowski
2003 Leslie Kantor 2015 Sarah Roberts
2004 Lawrence Finer 2016 Elham Hassen, Lauren Ralph
2005 Silvia Henriquez 2017 Anu Manchikanti Gómez
2006 Kelly Blanchard 2018 Nicole Cushman

Additional Section Awards

Each year, the SRH Section also recognizes exceptional students in the SRH field with scholarships to defray the costs of participating in the annual conference as well as SRH-related poster presentations characterized by excellence in research, clarity of presentation, potential impacts of results, and innovativeness of approach. Details about the application processes for the SRH Student Scholarship Awards and SRH Poster Awards become available in late summer.