News and Events


APHA 2020 Annual Meeting and Expo

Oral Health Submission Deadline: Tuesday, Feb.18, 2020


Anthony Westwater Jong Memorial Community Dental Health Awards

The APHA Oral Health Section gave their awards during the 2019 APHA Annual Meeting held November 2nd - November 6th in Philadelphia, PA. These awards were supported by our lead sponsors, Colgate Oral Pharmaceuticals and Dentsply International, and conveyed during the annual awards presentation and networking dinner. The University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine hosted this year's dinner. Dr. Mark S. Wolff, Morton Amsterdam Dean of Penn Dental Medicine, shared a special welcome and spoke about the oral health needs of individuals with special needs. The Pre-professional Award, sponsored by Colgate, was given to Anita Gotz and Clare Ma. The Post-professional Award, sponsored by Dentsply, was given to Shabnam Seyedzadeh Sabounchi. Each was recognized for their outstanding community-based service projects. 

John W. Knutson Distinguished Service Award in Dental Public Health

The APHA Oral Health Section is pleased to announce the 2019 recipient was Helene Bednarsh, BS, RDH, MPH. Helene was honored for her efforts to improve the health of individuals and communities, especially for persons living with HIV/AIDS, and for her outstanding efforts to promote the goals of APHA and the Oral Health Section for over 40 years.

The APHA Oral Health Section is now on Facebook and Twitter. Don't forget to "like" us on Facebook and '"follow us" on Twitter

Facebook icon APHA Oral Health Section

Twitter icon  @APHAOralHealth