Awards recognize outstanding achievements, celebrate innovation and commend excellent work in public health nutrition. The Food and Nutrition Section honors recipients during a reception at the APHA Annual Meeting each year.

Catherine Cowell Award

This esteemed award honors distinct achievement in leadership, planning, administration and mentoring in public health nutrition, with emphasis at the local level. The recipient of this award has answered the unique needs of urban populations and young children.

Mary C. Egan Award

This honor goes to those public health nutritionists who pioneer fresh approaches to public health nutrition, nutrition education and those groups with special dietary needs. 

Sarah Samuels Memorial Award

This award celebrates individuals who affect nutrition policy, advocacy and evaluation, particularly at the local and state levels.

Excellence in Dietary Guidance

This award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions in dietary guidance formulation, research, education, implementation or policy change. Recipients are closely involved in designing and implementing nutrition guidance through scholarly pursuits, research, education or practice.

Student Award

The Student Award recognizes the student whose Annual Meeting abstract received the highest score from Food and Nutrition Section abstract reviewers. The awardee receives a certificate and a one-year student membership in APHA.

Agnes Higgins Award

Sponsored jointly with APHA’s Maternal and Child Health Section and with support from the March of Dimes,  the Agnes Higgins Award recognizes distinguished achievement in research, education or clinical services in the field of maternal-fetal nutrition. The awardee receives a $3,000 honorarium and gives a presentation during the Agnes Higgins Lecture Award Reception at the APHA Annual Meeting.  The March of Dimes oversees the nomination and selection process.