Medical Care Section workgroups help keep our section running smoothly, and our committees plan scientific, business and social sessions for APHA’s Annual Meeting and Exposition, while some develop policy proposals for APHA. Our workgroups and committees are superb venues for networking with peers, deepening familiarity with issues and working with other health professionals who are committed to improving the nation’s health.


Contact: Rosa Rodriguez-Monguio and Wassim Tarraf

Contact: Lisa Lines

Contact: Mohinder Vindhyal and Nghia Vo

Student Mentoring
Contact: Cody Mullen


Climate Change
Contact: Mona Sarfaty

Drug Policy and Pharmaceutical Practice
Mission: To promote the public health perspective in regulation, policy development, utilization and outcomes evaluation related to drugs and medical devices.
Contact: Bithia Anderson

Health Equity
We are a home for students, scholars, and practitioners with interests in reducing disparities and achieving health equity for all.
Contact: Lisa Lines

Health Economics and Health Services Research 
Members of the Health Economics and Health Services Research Committee represent the multidisciplinary field of scientific investigation that studies how social factors, financing systems, organizational structures and processes, health technologies and personal behaviors affect access to health care, the quality and cost of health care, and ultimately our health and well-being.
Contact: Katherine S. VirgoJessica Williams

History of Public Health 
Contact: Kavita Sivaramakrishnan

Justice-Impacted and Incarcerated Health
Contact: Allison O. Jordan

Quality Improvement 
This committee is seeking a new leader!
Interim contact: Gordy Schiff

Rural and Frontier Health 
Contact: Kate PerkinsBarbara Levin

Social Sciences in Health 
This committee is seeking a new leader!

Urban Health
This committee is seeking a new leader!

Veterans’ Health
Contact: Rosa Rodriguez-Monguio

Women’s Health 
Contact: Amal Khoury