Background and Who They Are

Ten people smiling

The Tribal Public and Environmental Health Think Tank is composed of individuals with diverse personal and professional experience and expertise in tribal public and environmental health. APHA convenes this group with support from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's National Center for Environmental Health and the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry.


Rosemary Ahtuangaruak
Member of Native Village of Barrow and resident of Village of Nuiqsut, Alaska

Charlene Akpik Apok
Executive Director, Data for Indigenous Justice & Gender Justice and Healing Director, Native Movement

Isaiah “Shaneequa” Brokenleg
Staff Officer for Racial Reconciliation, The Episcopal Church

Susan Hanson
Environmental Scientist & Contractor to the Shoshone Bannock Tribes

Jennifer Irving
Director of Grants, Red Cloud Indian School

Clinton Isham
Independent Consultant

Mariah Norwood
Infectious Disease American Indian Liaison, Minnesota Department of Health

Christina M. Pacheco
Researcher & Outcomes Manager, Saint Luke’s Mid America Heart Institute

Missy Tracy
Municipal Relations Coordinator, Ho-Chunk Gaming Madison