Every year, the Occupational Health and Safety Section presents four awards at the APHA Annual Meeting at our OHS Awards Luncheon. These awards are granted to highly deserving individuals or organizations that provide tireless advocacy for the health and safety of workers in the U.S. and internationally.

Alice Hamilton Award
Alice Hamilton (1869-1970) was considered the founder of occupational health in the U.S. and was a tireless activist and physician who dedicated her life to improving the health and safety of workers. She was committed to science, service and compassion. This award recognizes the life-long contributions of individuals who have distinguished themselves through a career of hard work and dedication to improve the lives of workers.

2019 Alice Hamilton Award winner: Elise Pechter, MPH, CIH

Lorin Kerr Award
Lorin Kerr (1909-1991) was a life-long activist and served for over 40 years as a physician for the United Mine Workers. He was dedicated to improving access to care for coal miners and other workers and to obtaining compensation for and preventing black lung disease. This award recognizes a new activist for their sustained and outstanding efforts and dedication to improve the lives of workers.

2019 Lorin Kerr Award winner: Marianela Acuña Arreaza

Tony Mazzocchi Award
Tony Mazzocchi (1927-2003) was the most influential labor leader in the occupational health and safety field in the U.S. and played a key role in the legislative struggles of the 1960s and 1970s, including passage of the 1970 Occupational Safety and Health Act. A founder of the Labor Party, he continued organizing support for the party's national health care program up until his death. This award gives recognition to grassroots health and safety activists in local unions or other local organizations fighting for the health and safety rights of workers.

2019 Tony Mazzocchi Award winner: PHILAPOSH

Leslie Nickels International Health & Safety Award
The International Award recognizes individuals with outstanding achievement in the field of occupational health and safety outside the U.S.

2019 International Award winner: Sophia Kisting-Cairncross