News and Events

Monthly Environment Section Call

We hold a one hour conference call once a month, on rotating days Throughout this hour, we talk about the Section's activities, current issues in environmental health, opportunities for collaboration, and more. If you are a Section member, we would love for you to join us! If you are not a member, please consider signing up for an APHA membership at the top of this page or adding our Section to your current membership. We know you'll appreciate our selfless and brilliant and diverse community of professionals. If you are a member of the Environment Section but do not receive our announcements, please contact Ellen-Claire Newell.

Environment Section Policy Statements

As members of APHA, we are committed to educating the public about environmental health. We do this by contacting our legislators, commenting on federal proposals, collaborating to advance environmental stewardship, writing policy statements, and more.

Policy statements help shape APHA's position on legislation and regulations, help others write briefs and statements about public health issues, highlight the latest research on specific public health topics, and serve as a resource for the general public. We have over 400 policy statements related to the environment in our policy statement database.

2019 Environment Section Award Winners

We have some brilliant people in our Section, and it's important to us we recognize them for their contributions to environmental health. The Environment Section has commended the accomplishments of the following individuals at the APHA 2019 Annual Meeting & Expo (Nov. 2-6) at the Pennsylvania Convention Center.

Homer N. Calver Award — Linda Rudolph, MD/MPH

Rudolph is recognized for her dynamic leadership on issues related to addressing health, equity and sustainability. In her role at the California Department of Public Health, Rudolph chaired the California Climate Action Team Public Health Work Group. Rudolph now leads the Center for Climate Change and Health at the Public Health Institute, where she co-founded the US Climate and Health Alliance (USCHA). Representing the USCHA Rudolph serves on the board of the Global Climate and Health Alliance, which convenes health organizations internationally to accelerate progress on climate change mitigation and health protection. As a private citizen, Rudolph has fought tirelessly for policies to protect health, equity and to mitigate climate change, testifying in policy hearings, speaking to media, and serving as a leader in efforts to have the pension plan for public employees in California, CalPERS (the largest public pension fund in the US, and the 7th largest pension fund globally), divest from fossil fuels. In 2013, she was recognized as a White House Champion of Change for her work on climate change and health.

Rebecca A. Head Award — Yukyan Lam, JD/PhD

Lam is the Environmental Justice and Health Science Fellow at Natural Resources Defense Council. Her research focuses on investigating cumulative impacts experienced by marginalized, urban-based populations, which derive from the concurrence of multiple environmental exposures, social vulnerability, and other factors. Her work draws on spatial analysis, epidemiology, biostatistics, and qualitative research methods, as well as extensive collaboration with EJ partners. In addition to her work at NRDC, Lam was a vital contributor to the development of the APHA Policy, "Addressing Environmental Justice to Achieve Health Equity," which is under review. She has an in-depth knowledge of EJ scholarship and respect for EJ leaders.

Damu Smith Award — Mustafa Santiago Ali

Ali is recognized for his leadership in the environmental justice movement. Mustafa is a co-host of Hip Hop Caucus’ “Think 100% – The Coolest Show on Climate Change” and former Senior Vice President of Climate, Environmental Justice & Community Revitalization for the Hip Hop Caucus. He joined the Hip Hop Caucus in 2017 after working 24 years at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, where he served as Assistant Associate Administrator for Environmental Justice and Senior Advisor for Environmental Justice and Community Revitalization. Mustafa elevated EJ issues and worked across federal agencies to strengthen EJ policies, programs and initiatives. In 2012, Mustafa launched the EPA’s Environmental Justice in Action Blog, which highlighted innovative actions to address environmental justice, sustainability and climate change issues. In 2004, he was selected as the EPA’s National Enforcement Training Institutes “Trainer of the Year” for his efforts in training over 4,000 people in “The Fundamentals of Environmental Justice.”

Distinguished Service Award -— Aaron Guest

Guest is recognized for his significant contributions to APHA and the Environment Section. Aaron has served the Section through involvement in the policy committee, in the first year of the building healthy communities committee, and the Membership Committee. As a member of the APHA Executive Board, Aaron has represented the interest of the section and worked to ensure APHA remains engaged in Environmental work following the year of Climate Changes Health. He has worked to ensure APHA continues to identify new ways to engage multi-party stakeholders.

The Environment Section congratulates all four recipients of the 2019 Section awards for their outstanding achievement! "These award winners exemplify the dedication, commitment, and service that is inherent in public health practice. Join us in celebrating their unparalleled contribution to making the world a safer and healthier place for everyone," said Jyotsna Jagai, PhD, MPH, immediate past chair of the Environment Section. These award recipients were formally recognized at the Environment Section's awards luncheon and social event on Monday, Nov. 4, 2019.

For leadership contact information, log into APHA Connect using your membership credentials.