American Public Health Association
800 I Street, NW • Washington, DC 20001-3710
(202) 777-APHA • Fax: (202) 777-2534 •

APHA Education Board Working Committees

Education Board members are asked to take on committee or workgroup assignments in addition to their participation in activities of the Board overall. Standing committees of the Education Board are the Public Health Education Innovations Committee, the Public Health Continuing Education Committee and the Public Health Workforce Committee. The Board Chair appoints board members to committees. 


Following is more information regarding the three committees:


Public Health Continuing Education Committee: Sonda Oppewal (Chair, Nursing), Apryl Brown (Physician), Delois Dilworth-Berry, Amar Kanekar (CPH), Keiko Sakagami (CHES/MCHES)


Focus: Propose and review methods for ongoing assessment of the educational needs of the APHA membership and the public health workforce. Propose and review activities for the assurance of the quality of APHA educational offerings. Oversee and support the attainment and maintenance of disciplinary accreditation for the provision and approval of continuing education.


Public Health Education Innovations Committee: Olivia Carter-Pokras (Co-Chair), Chris Chanyasulkit (Co-Chair), Kenneth E. Balbi, Harry Kwon, Marcelo Schmidt 

Focus: Envision/develop innovative or reconfigured continuing education programs for APHA at annual or regional meetings and through distance technologies.


Public Health Workforce Committee: Michael Morris, Chair, Wendy Braund, Minnjuan Flournoy Floyd, Tara Hayden


Focus: Provide leadership for APHA activities related to credentialing of public health workforce. Increase understanding and support by public health practitioners of the role and importance of practitioners having academic preparation at accredited programs/schools.



APHA Education Board Section Liaisons