Committees

The Medical Care Section committees plan scientific, business and social sessions for APHA’s Annual Meeting. Some develop policy proposals for the APHA. Our committees are superb venues for networking with peers, deepening familiarity with issues and working with other health professionals who are committed to improving the nation’s health.


Standing Committees and Contacts

Communications and Membership

Lisa Lines (llines@gmail.com) - Chair and Website Editor
Sara Teppema (steppema@soa.org) - Newsletter
Erin Starzyk (ecloherty@gmail.com) - Facebook
Sarah D. Young (sarah.d.young@hud.gov) - LinkedIn
Sonny Patel (sonnypat@usc.edu) - Immediate Past Chair

Program 

Jim Wohlleb (jimwohlleb@gmail.com
Özlem Ersin (ohersin@manchester.edu)

Student Award Session 
Irene Zuckerman (izuckerm@rx.umaryland.edu)
Linda D. Green (green_linda@hotmail.com)

Interest Areas and Contacts

Drug and Pharmacy Policy
Meghana Aruru (meghana.aruru@gmail.com)
Stanley A. Edlavitch (edlavitchs@umkc.edu)
Robert Paul Eilers (Robert.eilers@dhs.state.nj.us)

Ethnic and Racial Disparities
Ernest M. Moy (ernest.moy@ahrq.hhs.gov)

Health Economics
Garland Brinkley (garland.brinkley@tu.edu)

Health Services Research 
Katherine S. Virgo  (virgojk@comcast.net)

History of Public Health 
Amy L. Fairchild (alf4@columbia.edu)

Jail and Prison Health 
Nancy E. Stoller (nancys@ucsc.edu)

Quality Improvement 
Amy Fendrich (afendrich@mhs.net)

Rural Health 
Wayne Myers (wwm@midcoast.com)

Social Sciences in Health 
Betty Wolder Levin (bwlevin@brooklyn.cuny.edu)

Urban Health
Linda D. Green (green_linda@hotmail.com)

Veterans’ Health
Linda Tsan (linda.w.tsan@gmail.com)
William B. Weeks (william.b.weeks@dartmouth.edu)

Women’s Health
Amal Khoury (Khoury@etsu.edu)