Leadership Roster

 

Food & Nutrition Section

2013 Leadership

 

Sonya Jones, PhD

Associate Professor and Director

Center for Research in Nutrition and Health Disparities, University of South Carolina

Phone Number - 803-777-3892

Email - sjones@sc.edu

Position - Chair

 

Laura Dotson, MS-MPH

Research Associate

Samueli Institute, Alexandria, VA

Phone Number - 703-299-4867

Email - ldotson@siib.org

Position - Secretary

Position - Awards Chair

 

Marsha Spence, PhD, MPH, RD

Assistant Director, Public Health Nutrition Program

The University of Tennessee, Department of Nutrition, Knoxville, TN

Phone Number - 865-974-6265

Email - mspence@utk.edu

Position - Immediate Past Chair

Position - Section Councilor

 

Wendy Johnson-Askew

Head, Corporate Affairs

Nestle, Florham Park NJ

Phone Number - 973 593 7517

Email - Wendy.Johnson-Askew@US.Nestle.com

Position - Chair-Elect

 

Katie Kavanagh. PhD, RD

Associate Professor

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN

Phone Number - 865-974-6250

Email - kkavanag@utk.edu

Position - Secretary-Elect

 

Patricia Markham Risica. DrPH, RD

Assistant Professor (Research) of Epidemiology

Brown University, Providence, RI

Phone Number - 401-863-6553

Email - pmrisica@verizon.net

Position - Chair Communications Committee

 

Shirley Gerrior, PhD, RD, LDN

Faculty

Walden University (online University); 8924 Woodcreek Circle, Wilmington, NC 28411 (Home)

Phone Number - 910 686 8907

Email - shirley_gerrior@msn.com

Position - Lead for F&N Strategic Plan Update

 

Becca Klein, MS

Project Director

Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future

Phone Number - 410-502-7578

Email - rklein@jhsph.edu

Position - Coordinator, APHA Food and Environment Working Group

 

WenYen Juan, PhD

Nutritionist

US Food and Drug Administration, College Park, MD

Phone Number - 240-402-1790

Email - wenyen.juan@fda.hhs.gov

Position - Membership

 

Rachel Fisher, MPH, MS, RD

Nutritionist

NIH Division of Nutrition Research Coordinaiton, Bethesda, MD

Phone Number - 202-906-0930

Email - rachelafisher@gmail.com

Position - Newsletter Editor

 

Jenna Cope, RD

Public Policy Analyst

Nestle Nutrition

Phone Number - 973-593-7741

Email - Jenna.Cope@us.nestle.com

Position - Co-Chair of FNS Newsletter

 

Geraldine S. Perry. DrPH, MPH, RDN

Lead Health Scientist

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, GA

Phone Number - 770-488-5174

Email - gperry@cdc.gov

Position - Governing Council

 

Joan Trendell, MS, RD, CD

Bureau Chief, Population Health

Marion County Public Health Department

Phone Number - 317-221-2319

Email - jtrendel@hhcorp.org

Position - Governing Councilor

 

Lenny Lesser, MD, MSHS

Research Physician

Palo Alto Medical Foundation Research Institute, Palo Alto, CA

Phone Number - 916-915-3669

Email - Lenny3200@gmail.com

Position - Governing Council

 

L. Beth Dixon, PhD, MPH

Associate Professor

New York University

Email - LBD2@nyu.edu

Position - Section Counselor

Position - Past Chair of FNS

Position - Past Governing Councilor

 

Carole Garner. MPH,RDN, LD

Prevention Specialist

Arkansas Center for Health Improvement

Phone Number - 501-526-2301

Email - cbgarner@uams.edu

Position - Section Council

 

Noel Chavez, PhD, RD, LDN

Associate Professor and Co-director Maternal and Child Health

University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health, Chicago, IL

Phone Number - 312.996.0747

Email - nchavez@uic.edu

Position - Section Councilor

Position - Co-chair Policy and Advocacy

 

Laura Bellows. PhD, MPH, RD

Assistant Professor & Extension Specialist

Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colorado

Phone Number - 970-491-1305

Email - laura.bellows@colostate.edu

Position - Section Councilor

Position - Chair, Program Planning Committee

 

Gail Woodward-Lopez, MPH, RD

Associate Director

UC Berkeley, Atkins Center for Weight and Health

Phone Number - 510-888-9762

Email - gwlopez@berkeley.edu

Position - Former Governing Councilor

Position - Former Chair, Child Obesity Workgroup

 

Leah Rimkus, MPH, RD

Deputy Director, Bridging the Gap

University of Illinois at Chicago

Phone Number - 312-413-4884

Email - lrimkus@uic.edu

Position - Former/Outgoing Program Chair