American Public Health Association
800 I Street, NW • Washington, DC 20001-3710
(202) 777-APHA • Fax: (202) 777-2534
comments@apha.org • http://www.apha.org

Leadership

The Environment Section is led by its elected officers: chairperson, chairperson-elect, secretary, and six Section Councilors. In addition, four Section members are elected to the APHA Governing Council.

There are numerous opportunities for all Environment Section members to become involved in the Section in some capacity.

Leadership Roster (PDF version with contact info)

Chair 
Kacee Deener
kcdeener@gmail.com

Immediate Past Chair
Barbara Glenn
Glenn.barbara1@gmail.com

 

Chair-Elect
Megan Latshaw 
megan.latshaw@aphl.org

Secretary
Sarah Kelly 
sarahwkelly@gmail.com

Section Councilors
Yolanda Sanchez

sanchez.yolanda@epa.gov


Roni Neff 
rneff@jhsph.edu


Michelle Homan

homan001@gannon.edu


Becca Klein

rklein@jhsph.edu


Jyotsna S. Jagai 
Jagai.Jyotsna@epamail.epa.gov

 

Governing Councilors
Allen Dearry

dearry@niehs.nih.gov

 

Kyle Kinner
kkinner@niaid.nih.gov

 

Aditi Vaidya 
aditibvaidya@gmail.com

 

Megan Latshaw 
megan.latshaw@aphl.org

 

Program Chairs 
Surili Sutaria, Jo Anna Shimek

surili.sutaria@gmail.com, joanna.shimek@gmail.com, apha.environment@yahoo.com

 

Communications 
Sarah Kelly 
sarahwkelly@gmail.com

 

Website 
Sarah Kelly 
sarahwkelly@gmail.com

 

Student Liaison
Kristen Burwell

kburwell@umd.edu

 

Membership Chairs
Jyotsna S. Jagai, Yolanda Sanchez
Jagai.Jyotsna@epamail.epa.gov, sanchez.yolanda@epa.gov

Policy Chairs
Kyle Kinner, Roni Neff
kkinner@niaid.nih.gov, rneff@jhsph.edu  

Climate Change
Liz Perrera, Chris Rea

liz.perrera@sierraclub.org, rea.49@osu.edu

 

Food and Environment
Roni Neff, Becka Klein 
rneff@jhsph.edurklein@jhsph.edu

Environmental Justice
AJ Cuevas, Simone Charles
azitakj@gmail.com, scharles@georgiasouthern.edu

Built Environment
Beth Altschuler, Tina Yuen

beth@raimiassociates.com, tklyuen@gmail.com 

 

Student Involvement
Tara McAlexander (alumni chair), Derek Shendell (faculty chair), Meghan McGinty (student chair), Natasha DeJarnett (student chair)
taramacalexander@gmail.com, derekgshendell@yahoo.com, mmcginty@jhsph.edu, natashadejarnett@hotmail.com

Awards
Leon Vinci

lfv6@aol.com

 

Nominations
Barbara Glenn

glenn.barbara1@gmail.com 

 

Nature and Human Health

Leyla McCurdy, Jill Litt

lmccurdy@neefusa.org, jill.litt@ucdenver.edu

 

The National Conversation

Nse Obot Witherspoon

nobot@cehn.org

 

Liaison to Action Board
Leon Vinci, Rebecca Head 
lfv6@aol.com, rhead@umich.edu