American Public Health Association
800 I Street, NW • Washington, DC 20001-3710
(202) 777-APHA • Fax: (202) 777-2534
comments@apha.org • http://www.apha.org

Leadership Roster

 

 

 

SECTION COUNCIL LEADERSHIP

 

 

SECTION LEADERSHIP 2013-2014

 

Chair (2012-2014)

Wandy Hernandez

HealthConnect One

1436 W. Randolph Street 4th Flr.

Chicago, Il 60607

Tel:.(312) 878-7018

www.wandyhdz@healthconnectone.org

Chair Elect

Mae Gilene Begay

 

POB 2280,

Window Rock, AZ 86515

Tel:   928-871-6872

mgbegay@yahoo.com

Immediate Past Chair

Maria Lourdes Fernandez

AZ Prevention Research Center

Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health/University of Arizona

Arizona Community Health Outreach Workers Network (AzCHOW)

Tel: 520-805-1781

Cell 520-559-3175 and 520-266-6707

mlfernan@u.arizona.edu 

chachaml@hotmail.com

Secretary

Julie St. John

Center for Community Health Development

Texas A&M School of Rural Public Health

2131 Ave. N

Anson TX 79501

325-823-2279

325-513-4943

jastjohn@srph.tamhsc.edu

Treasurer

 

 

Program Planner

Katherine Mitchell

 

 

 

 

 

Worker Alliance (MiCHWA)

1080 South University Avenue, Room 3759

Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1106

Office: 734-615-7972

Cell: 248-345-9930

mitchkl@umich.edu

Section Council Representatives

Laura Bahena

(2011-2014)

 

 

Melissa K. Thomas

(2012-2015)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Graciela Cadena

(2012-2015)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bette Jo (BJ) Ciesielski

(2012-2015)

 

Chicago CHW Local Network

1436 W. Randolph Street, 4th. Floor

Chicago, Illinois 60607

Tel:  312-878-7015

lbahena@healthconnectone.org

 

Center for Appalachia Research in Cancer Education

8385 State Route 821

Whipple, OH  45788

614-353-5857

800-614-5857

admin@appalcare.org

 

Spectrum Health, Healthier Communities, Programa Puente

75 Sheldon Blvd SE Suite 101

Grand Rapids MI 49503

616-427-8307

616-391-6188

Graciela.cadena@spectrumhealth.org

 

New Mexico Community Health Worker Association

P.O. Box 81433  (526 Washington NE )

Albuquerque, NM 87198

(505) 573-3311

(505) 255-1227

bjciesielski@centurylink.net

Governing Council Representative

(2012-2014)

Fernando Pineda-Reyes

Community+Research+Education +Awareness (CREA) Results

2460 west argyle place

Denver, CO 80211

720-495-3180

720-495-3180

fernando@crearesults.org

Governing Council Representative

(2013-2015)

 

 

Action Board Representative 2013-2014, APHA Nominating Committee

Cindy Martin

Congreso de Latinos Unidos

216 W Somerset St

Philadelphia 19133

617-894-3611

CindyMartinMPH@gmail.com

APHA Executive Board Member 2011-2015

Durrell Fox

New England AIDS Education and Training Center @ UMASS Medical School & MA Assoc. of CHWs

333 South Street

Shrewsbury, MA 01545

Tel: (508) 856-4402

dfoxnehec@aol.com

 

COMMITTEE LEADERSHIP

 

Communication Committee Co-Chairs

Gail Hirsch

 

 

Molly Martin

Massachusetts Department of Public Health

Tel: (617) 624-6016

gail.hirsch@state.ma.us

 

Rush University Medical Center

Tel: (312) 942-2540

molly_a_martin@rush.edu

Policy Committee Chair

Ashley Wennerstrom

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Carol West

Office of Community Affairs and Health Policy

Tulane University School of Medicine

1555 Poydras St., Suite 841

New Orleans, LA 70112

Phone:  504-988-4007

awenners@tulane.edu

 

Community Health Worker Initiative of Sonoma County (CHWISC)

64 Century Lane

Petaluma, CA  94952

1(707) 481-7965

carolwestchw@gmail.com

Educación y Capacitación Committee Chair

Joanne Calista

 

 

 

 

Sergio Matos

 

Central Massachusetts Area Health Education Center, Inc.

35 Harvard Street, Suite 300

Worcester, MA 01609

508-756-6676 Ext. 10

jlcalista@cmahec.org

 

Community Health Worker Network of NYC

Tel:  917-653-9699

sergio@chwnetwork.org

Membership Committee

Carol West

 

 

 

 

Community Health Worker Initiative of Sonoma County (CHWISC)

64 Century Lane

Petaluma, CA  94952

1(707) 481-7965

carolwestchw@gmail.com

Nominations Committee

Laura Bahena

 

 

 

 

Nell Brownstein

Chicago CHW Local Network

1436 W. Randolph Street, 4th. Floor

Chicago, Illinois 60607

Tel:  312-878-7015

lbahena@healthconnectone.org

 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Tel: (770) 488-2570

jnb1@cdc.gov

Liaison to Other APHA Sections, SPIGs & Caucuses Committee Chair

Colleen Reinert

Migrant Health Promotion

Tel: (800)461-8394 ext 1015

creinert@migranthealth.org

 

Awards Committee

Bette Jo (BJ) Ciesielski

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Melissa Gutierrez

 

 

 

 

Sara Torres

New Mexico Community Health Worker Association

P.O. Box 81433  (526 Washington NE )

Albuquerque, NM 87198

(505) 573-3311

(505) 255-1227

bjciesielski@gmail.com

 

California Ave. at 15th Street, Room K435. Chicago, IL 60608

773-257-5960

melissa.gutierrez@sinai.org

 

University of Ottawa/Diploma in Health Services and Policy Research, Ontario Training Centre 120 Université FSS 5024 Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6N5 Canada

Tel/Tél: (613) 237-2627

Email: storres@uottawa.ca

Special Advisor

Carl Rush

 

 

 

 

E. Lee Rosenthal

 

 

 

 

Durrell Fox

Project on CHW Policy & Practice

U. of Texas Institute for Health Policy

(210) 775-2709

carl.h.rush@uth.tmc.edu

 

Project on CHW Policy and Practice

U.T. Institute for Health Policy

Tel: 915-799-3100

Lee.Rosenthal@uth.tmc.edu

 

New England AIDS Education and Training Center @ UMASS Medical School & MA Assoc. of CHWs

333 South Street

Shrewsbury, MA 01545

Tel: (508) 856-4402

dfoxnehec@aol.com