Henrik L. Blum Award for Excellence in Health Policy

Past recipients of the Henrik L. Blum Award for Excellence in Health Policy

2007    Jeffrey Myers

2006     James G. Hodge, JD, LLM

2005     Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Assessment Initiative

2000     Michael S. Dukakis

1998     Senator Edward M. Kennedy

1997     David A. Kessler, MD

1996     Finger Lakes Health Systems Agency

1995     Governor John Kitzhaber

1994     Senator Nicholas Petris; Felice Tannenbaum

Dr. Blum was a champion of health care equity

Dr. Henrik Blum, a Professor Emeritus of Health Policy and Planning in the School of Public Health at the University of California at Berkeley, passed away on January 3, 2006. He had been a champion of health care equity, and through the use of social action organizing skills, has incorporated social and economic concepts into the development of and implementation of health care policy and delivery in a changing environment.

Dr. Blum had served APHA as Vice President (USA) in 1990. Among his many awards was the American Public Health Association Sedgwick Memorial Medal, the American Health Planning Association Schlesinger Award, the American Optometric Society Apollo Award, the Berkeley Citation of the University of California, and a Fulbright Scholarship in Sweden.