Health Informatics Information Technology Group




Volume 9, Issue 9                                                                           Winter 2011



-Message from the HIIT Chair


-HIIT’s Technology Center


-HIIT Membership Recruitment Challenge


-Congratulations to Dr. Jayfus Doswell



-HIIT Leadership





Chair’s Message



It is both an honor and privilege to serve as the Chair of the Health Informatics Information Technology (HIIT) SPIG for 2011.  It is my great fortune to work alongside a dynamic leadership team that possesses the unique talents, technological acumen and phenomenal expertise to continue to propel HIIT to higher heights.

As our health care and public health systems are poised to embrace the challenges of the adoption of electronic health records, or EHRs, health information exchange, and meaningful use, HIIT is positioned to take its place as a leader in the public health realm.  

As we commence the new year, I’d like to acknowledge the contributions of those individuals who envisioned and conceptualized HIIT as a needful component of APHA.  Namely, Dr. Diane L. Adams, founder and chair emeritus, Advisory Board members, charter officers and members and APHA Leadership paved the way for our current success. It is with a spirit of gratitude that I sincerely say THANK YOU for laying a solid foundation on which to build.

In order to advance the mission of HIIT it’s necessary to have the membership to support its activities and initiatives.  You may ask…What can I do?  As posted in the blast email last month, one action would be to recruit at least one member for HIIT.  Another action could be to become actively involved with one or more of HIIT’s numerous committees. Still another action could be to submit an article to the HIIT newsletter. By no means are the aforementioned actions mutually exclusively. You are encouraged to participate actively, and share your ideas and talents to advance the work of the SPIG.   

In closing, it’s an exciting time to work in public health, and more specifically to be involved in Health Informatics Information Technology.  Let’s make 2011 the year that takes HIIT to the “next level”.  I’m wishing you a tremendous year. I’m looking forward to working with you!


Christopher D. Williams, MPH, CPEHR, CPHIT -HIIT Chair


HIIT’s Technology Center


The HIIT-Center is an environment for live presentations of information and computer technology applications for public health.  It is a fully equipped meeting room with Internet access, LCD projection capability, and theater-quality video projection and stereo audio. Morning sessions in the Technology Center are devoted to scientific content and sessions.  HIIT has been asked by APHA Leadership to be responsible for the HIIT Technology Center (formally Technology Theater).



HIIT Membership Recruitment Challenge

Our Section truly benefits from its membership.  As a program component of APHA, we are budgeted on a per member basis.  Therefore, every member is encouraged to set a goal of recruiting at least one new member to HIIT by March 31, 2011.  HIIT uses the funds generated to provide a scholarship for a deserving student to the Annual Meeting in November, and for the Awards Reception at the Annual Meeting.


Congratulations to

Dr. Jayfus Doswell


In December, Dr. Jayfus Doswell, one of HIIT’s founding members and HIIT Technology Center chair, received some “stellar” news. Dr. Doswell’s company, Juxtopia, LLC, secured a Space Act Agreement with NASA. Congratulations to Dr. Doswell on this extraordinary accomplishment.



HIIT 2010-2011 Officers


Founder and Chair Emeritus

Diane L. Adams, MD, MPH, CHS-III


Former Senior Health Policy Fellow & Consultant to the Georgia Centers for Advanced Telecommunications Technology (now known as Center for Advanced Communications Policy);

(301) 570-0387 



Christopher Williams, MPH, CPEHR, CPHIT-  

eQ Health Solutions

(225) 938-8905



Immediate Past Chair

Sandra Worrell, MS (Chair, 2009-2010) 

University of Connecticut-



Jiunn-Jye Sheu, PhD, MSPH, CHES

University of Toledo



Alex Charleston, MPH-




Dr. Tracy Hilliard -

University of Washington-Seattle



Anjelious P. Farmer, MBA

IBM Software Services for Federal Practice



Polly S. Turner, DrPH, MPH

President, PS Turner Health Administration Consultants


Governing Council Members

Brenda A. Leath, MHSA, PMP

Gloria McNeil, BSRN, MS


HIIT 2010-2011 Committee Chairs/Co-Chairs


Chair, Dr. Diane L. Adams 


1st Co-Chair,Ginelle Edmondson


2nd Co-Chair,Donald George


Program Planner

Chair Program Planner, Dr. Diane L. Adams  


Governing Council Members

Brenda A. Leath, MHSA, PMP


Gloria McNeil, BSRN, MS



APHA Action Board Representative

Dr. JJ Sheu -



Gloria McNeil -


Sandra Worrell -


Dr. Diane L. Adams -


Policy Chair

Dr. JJ Sheu -



Community Outreach

Chair, Eileen Elias, Med


Co-Chair, Dr. Deena J. Chisolm


Education and Research

Chair, Edward Mensah, PhD -


Co-Chair, Steven Godin, PhD, MPH, PHI Certificate -


Strategic Planning

Chair, Su-I Hou, DrPH, RN, CHES -

Student Committee

Chair, Dr. Tracy Hilliard -


Co-Chair, Chung-Bang (Ben) Weng, MSCS, MA -



Chair, Alex Charleston -



Chair, Anjelious Farmer



Chair, Ralph Donaldson


Newsletter Staff


Oversight of Newsletter APHA & PUBHIIT  Christopher Williams and Dr. Diane L. Adams


Editor, David Potenziani, PhD -


Associate Editor, Laurie Shanderson, PhD, MPA -



Health Informatics Information Technology Center

Chair,Jayfus T. Doswell, PhD -


Websites (APHA and PUBHIIT)

Christopher Williams and Dr. Diane L. Adams



HIIT Advisory Board


Lillian tom-Orme, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN -

David Potenziani, PhD -

Jay Bernhardt, PhD -

M.C. Roco, PhD -

Polly S. Turner, DrPH -

David Rookard

Brenda A. Leath, MHSA, PMP -

Edward Mensah, PhD -


More about Health Informatics Information Technology (Archived- see Section Newsletters)