For Immediate Release
Contact: Media Relations, (202) 777-2509

APHA Welcomes Newly Elected Association Leaders

Carmen Nevarez Begins Term as President

  Washington, D.C., December 2, 2009 During the American Public Health Association’s 137th Annual Meeting and Exposition last month, several new leaders and officers were elected to guide the work of the Association. Additionally, the Annual Meeting also marked the beginning of the one-year term of APHA President Carmen Nevarez , MD.


“I am proud to represent public health as president of APHA and to be able to highlight the tremendous richness that public health offers our country,” said Nevarez, who is vice president of external relations and preventive medicine advisor for the Public Health Institute, an organization dedicated to promoting health, well-being and quality of life.


The newly elected APHA leaders include Linda Rae Murray, MD, MPH, chief medical officer for Cook County Department of Public Health in Chicago, as president-elect; Paulo Buss, MD, MPH, director of the Oswaldo Cruz Foundation’s Center for Global Health in Brazil, as vice president for Latin America; Edwin C. Marshall, OD, MS, MPH, vice president for diversity, equity and multicultural affairs at Indiana University, as vice president for the United States; and Corey Neudorf, MD, MHSc, FRCPC, chief medical officer in Saskatoon Health Region as vice president for Canada.   

Elected as chair of the APHA Executive Board was Giorgio Piccagli, PhD, MPH, an independent consultant. Susan Radius, PhD, CHES, professor in the Health Sciences Department at Towson University, and Andrea Taylor, DrPH, MSPH, assistant professor at Morgan State University’s School of Community Health and Policy, were elected as co-vice chairs. 


Additionally, three APHA members were newly elected to the executive board. These members include Adewale Troutman, MD, MA, MPH, director of Metro Louisville Department of Public Health and Wellness; Beth Benedict, DrPH, JD, RN, research analyst with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Office of Research, Development and Information; and Drew Harris, DPM, MPH, president of the New Jersey Association for Biomedical Research.


Additional new appointees include Durrell Fox as Action Board Chair; Kaye Bender, RN, PhD, FAAN, as Education Board Chair; Lisa Carlson, MPH, CHES, as Inter-Sectional Council Chair; Mariza Hardin as Student Assembly Chair; and Terri Sasser, MPH, as Committee on Affiliates Chair. These individuals represent important committees that enhance the Association’s decision-making and governance processes.


“These leaders represent the best and brightest in the field of public health,” said Georges C. Benjamin, MD, FACP, FACEP (E), executive director of APHA. “Each brings remarkable experience both as public health leader and practitioner along with unswerving dedication to protecting and promoting the health of our nation’s communities. I look forward to working with them in the year ahead to help guide the Association and bolster its work to improve and protect the public’s health.”


APHA's Executive Board is a 24-member body that meets regularly throughout the year to conduct Association business. It supports APHA’s work to emphasize prevention, promote the scientific and professional foundation of public health practice and policy, advocate for the conditions for a healthy global society, and enhance the ability of members to promote and protect environmental and community health.

# # #
Founded in 1872, the APHA is the oldest, largest and most diverse organization of public health professionals in the world. The association aims to protect all Americans and their communities from preventable, serious health threats and strives to assure community-based health promotion and disease prevention activities and preventive health services are universally accessible in the United States. APHA represents a broad array of health providers, educators, environmentalists, policy-makers and health officials at all levels working both within and outside governmental organizations and educational institutions. More information is available at