Roster/Contact Information

The APHA Science Board ensures the Association's professional and public policy programs are evidence-based by reviewing proposed APHA policies for their scientific adequacy, and actively participating in the Association's policy review process. 

2014 Science Board

Sonja S. Hutchins, MD, MPH, DrPH, FACPM (Chair)

Captain, USPHS, Senior Medical Advisor

Office of Minority Health and Health Equity, Office of the Associate Director for Program
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Email: ssh1@cdc.gov

Section: Epidemiology

Term Expires: 2014

 

Rebecca A. Head, PhD, DABT (Vice Chair)

Lecturer, Eastern Michigan University

CEO, RHead & Associates, LLC

Email: rhead@umich.edu

Section: Environment

Term Expires: 2016

 

Hani K. Atrash, MD, MPH
Director, Division of Healthy Start and Perinatal Services, Maternal and Child Health Bureau
Health Resources and Services Administration
Email:
hatrash@hrsa.gov
Section: Maternal and Child Health

Term Expires: 2014

 

Elizabeth Bancroft, MD, ScM
Medical Epidemiologist (On Sabbatical)
Los Angeles County Dept of Public Health

E-mail: ebancroft1@yahoo.com     
Section: Epidemiology

Term Expires: 2015

 

Jo Anne Bennett, RN, PhD

Senior Research Scientist, DIIT/Policy

New York City Dept of Health and Mental Hygiene

Email:joannebenn@gmail.com

Section: Public Health Nursing

Term Expires 2014

 

Olivia Carter-Pokras, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, University of Maryland College Park School of Public Health

Email: opokras@umd.edu

Term Expires: 2016

Section: Epidemiology

 

Greg Geba, MD, MPH

Email: gebagp@earthlink.net

Section: Epidemiology

Term Expires: 2016

 

Janie Gittleman, Ph.D., MRP

Chief, Occupational Safety, Health & Environmental Compliance (DAL-3A)

Office of Engineering and Logistics Services

Defense Intelligence Agency

E-mail: janie.gittleman@dodiis.mil

Section: Occupational Health and Safety

Term Expires: 2015

 

Julie Graves, MD, MPH, PhD, FAAFP

Associate Professor of Behavioral and Clinical Medicine, American University of the Caribbean School of Medicine, Adjunct Assistant Professor

University of Texas School of Public Health

Email: Drjuliegraves@gmail.com

Section: Medical Care

Term Expires: 2015

  

Omar A. Khan, MD, MHS, FAAFP

Chair, Global Health Working Group,

Delaware Health Sciences Alliance Medical Director, Eugene duPont Preventive Medicine & Rehabilitation Institute, Christiana Care Health System Clinical Asst. Professor, Dept. of Family & Community Medicine, Jefferson Medical College

E-mail: ih.apha@gmail.com

Section: International Health

Term Expires: 2014

 

 

Kawika M K I Liu, MD, PhD, JD

Staff Physician

Consolidated Indian Tribal Health Project

Email: k.liu.hpha@gmail.com

Section: Medical Care

Term Expires: 2014

 

Sharina Person, PhD

Email: Sharina.Person@umassmed.edu

Section: Applied Public Health Statistics

Term Expires: 2016

 

Sonia Singh, PhD MHS

E-mail: ssinghphd@gmail.com

Section: Epidemiology

Term Expires: 2015

 

Ann Umemoto

March of Dimes

Email: aumemoto@marchofdimes.com

Section: Community Health Planning and Policy Development

Term Expires: 2016

 

Stuart Usdan, Ph.D.

Professor and Associate Dean

College of Human Environmental Sciences

University of Alabama

Email: susdan@ches.ua.edu

Section: Public Health Education and Health Promotion

Term Expires: 2015