Awards Committee

This committee focuses on selecting the winners of the following five APHA Awards:

- Sedgwick Memorial Medal for Distinguished Service in
   Public Health, APHA's oldest and most prestigious honor
- APHA Award for Excellence
- David P. Rall Award for Advocacy in Public Health
- Helen Rodriguez-Trias Social Justice Award
- Sidel-Levy Award for Peace

Committee members are public health professionals possessing rich experience and broad diversity across the public health community.

For 2014 the Committee will have four open positions available for two-year term.

Responsiblities of the Committee
The activities of the Awards Committee are to share the Call for Awards Nominations with their colleagues, reviewing nominations and meet via conference call to select the award winners in mid-June.

Current Members
Term Ending November 2014
Miryam C. Gerdine, MPH
Johanna M. Hinman, MPH, MCHES
Polly S. Turner, DrPH, MPH, RPh
Deborah K. Walker, EdD

Term Ending November 2015
Sean Cleary, PhD, MPH
Debra J. Jackson, RN, MPH, DSc 
Barry Levy, MD, MPH

Staff Liaison: Deborah Dillard