Sedgwick Memorial Medal

The Sedgwick Memorial Medal, established in honor of the late Professor William Thompson Sedgwick was awarded by APHA for distinguished service and advancement of public health knowledge and practice, since 1929. Professor Sedgwick was president of APHA in 1915 and Head of the Department of Biological and Public Health at Massachusetts Institute of Technology from 1883 to 1921. The Sedgwick award, one of the highest honors bestowed by APHA, is a true accolade of the profession – the recognition by an individual’s colleagues of outstanding accomplishments in the field of public health.

Sections, SPIGs, Affiliated Associations, Boards and Committees of the American Public Health Association are particularly encouraged to propose the name of an individual as a candidate for the Sedgwick Award.