2014 APHA Caucus Leadership Roster

E-mail your comments or corrections to  Lavanya Gupta   

Click to View Caucus Leadership Roster
Academic Public Health Caucus
American Indian, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Caucus
Asian Pacific Islander Caucus for Public Health
Black Caucus of Health Workers
Caucus on Homelessness
Caucus on Public Health and the Faith Community
Caucus on Refugee and Immigrant Health
Community-Based Public Health Caucus
Family Violence Prevention Caucus
Health Equity and Public Health Hospital Caucus
Labor Caucus
Latino Caucus
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Caucus of Public Health Professionals
Men's Health Caucus
Peace Caucus
Socialist Caucus
Spirit of 1848
Vietnam Caucus
Women’s Caucus

Academic Public Health Caucus, Est. 1994

Chair
Jose Cordero, MD
Dean, School of Public Health
University of Puerto Rico
Medical Sciences Campus, PO Box 365067
San Juan, PR  00936-5067
Phone:(404) 285-2138
jose.cordero6@upr.edu

Program Chair
Joel M. Lee, Dr.P.H., CPH
John A. Drew Professor of Healthcare Administration,
Department of Health Policy and Management 
Director, Doctor of Public Health Degree Program
College of Public Health 
The University of Georgia Health Sciences Campus
Rhodes Hall 105G, 105 Spear Road
Athens, GA 30602 
Phone: 706-542-3709 
Fax: 706-542-6730 
Email:
joellee@uga.edu 

Governing Council Representative
Dr. Deanna Wathington
dwathing@health.usf.edu

Communications and Special Projects
Dr. Connie Evashwick
evashwick@gmail.com



American Indian, Alaska Native & Native Hawaiian Caucus, Est. 1981 

Chair
Nancy Bill, MPH, CHES (Navajo) 2012-2014
CAPTAIN, USPHS
Injury Prevention Manager
Indian Health Service, OEHE-EHS
801 Thompson, TMP 610
Rockville MD 20852
Phone: 301-443-0105
nancy.bill@ihs.gov
 
Immediate Past Chair
Kamahanahokulani Farrar
Department of Health and Human Services
CMS/Office of E-Health Standards and Services (OESS)
7500 Security Blvd
Baltimore, MD 21244
kamahanahokulani@gmail.com

Secretary
Virginia Q Hedrick (Yurok/Karuk)
Outreach Coordinator
California Tribal Epidemiology Center
California Rural Indian Health Board
4400 Auburn Blvd, 2nd Floor
Sacramento CA 95841
Phone:(916) 929-9761
virginia.hedrick@crihb.net
 
Treasurer
Patricia Cochran
Executive Director
Alaska Native Science Commission
PO Box 242792
Anchorage, AK 99524
pcochran@aknsc.org

Newsletter and Website
Meghan Jernigan
Research Scientist
University of Washington
4616 Interlake Ave N
Seattle, WA 98103
meghanjernigan@gmail.com 

Program Co- Chairs
Deana Around Him
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
120 S. Washington St., Apt. B,
Baltimore, MD 21231
deanawagner@gmail.com
 
Audrey Solimon
Health System Specialist
Indian Health Service (IHS/DHHS)
5300 Homestead Rd. NE,
Albuquerque, NM  87110
solimon20@gmail.com
 
Membership
Bonney Hartley, MSocSci
Program Director, Community Services
Community Wellness Department
Native American Health Center
3124 International Blvd., Oakland CA 94601
Phone: 510.434.5444
bonneyh@nativehealth.org
 
Development
Lillian Tom-Orme, Ph.D., MPH, RN, FAAN
Research Assistant Professor
Division of Epidemiology
University of Utah
295 Chipeta Way
Salt Lake City, UT 84132
Phone:(801) 585-5246
Lillian.Tomorme@hsc.utah.edu



Asian Pacific Islander Caucus for Public Health, Est. 1974

Celebrating 40 Years of Collaboration!

Chair
Elena Ong, PHN, MS
Director of Strategic Planning & Public Affairs
Ong & Associates
chair@apicaucus.org
 
Chair-Elect
Angela Sy, DrPH
Assistant Professor
School of Nursing & Dental Hygience, University of Hawai'i
chairelect@apicaucus.org

Membership Chair
Niki Bannister, MPH, MS
Hepatitis B Program Associate
Charles B. Wang Community Health Center
membership@apicaucus.org
 
Communications Chair
Vishnu Nepal, MSc, MPH
Epidemiologist
Houston Department of Health and Human Services
communications@apicaucus.org

Policy Chair
Elena Ong, PHN, MS
Director of Strategic Planning & Public Affairs
Ong & Associates
policy@apicaucus.org

Program Chair
Aimee Afable-Munsuz, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor
School of Public Health, State University of New York (SUNY)
Downstate Medical Center
program@apicaucus.org

Program Chair-Elect
Hae-Ra Han, PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Professor
Department of Community Public Health
John Hopkins School of Nursing 
programelect@apicaucus.org

Secretary
Lan Doan, MPH, CPH
Clinical Research Coordinator
Stanford University
secretary@apicaucus.org

Student Representative (1-year term)
Debbie Huang
Master of Public Health Candidate
Columbia University
Mailman School of Public Health
studentrep1@apicaucus.org

Student Representative  (2-year term)
Wei Perng, MPH, PhD
Post-Doctoral Research Fellow, Department of Population Medicine, Harvard Medical School and Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Institute
studentrep2@apicaucus.org

Treasurer
Rebecca Park, MPA Candidate
Project Associate
Center for the Study of Asian American Health, NYU School of Medicine, Department of Population Health
treasurer@apicaucus.org

Caucus Councilors

Sherry Chen, MPH, CHES
ORISE Fellow
Division of Viral Hepatitis, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
caucuscouncilor1@apicaucus.org

Natalie T. Ah Soon, MPH
Project Coordinator
Asian & Pacific Islander Mental Health Collaborative
Richmond Area Multi-Services, Inc. (RAMS, Inc.)
caucuscouncilor2@apicaucus.org
 
Chari Cohen, MPH, DrPH(c)
Director of Public Health
Hepatitis B Foundation
caucuscouncilor3@apicaucus.org

 

Black Caucus of Health Workers, Est. 1968

President

Albert W. Pless Jr., M.S.

Manager, The Men's Health League

Cambridge Public Health Department

Tel: 617-665-3830

apless@challiance.org

 

Immediate Past President

Selena Smith, MPA

Grants Manager and Compliance Officer

UIC School of Public Health

Cure Violence/CeaseFire

1603 West Taylor, M/C 923

Chicago, Illinois 60612

312-413-4288 (bus)

312-996-1374 (fax)

seas@uic.edu

 

Vice-President

George R. Smith, Jr., MPH

Community Relations Director

Center for Community Health and Vitality

Urban Health Initiative

The University of Chicago

950 East 61st Street, MC 1119, Room 228

Chicago, Illinois 60637-1470

773.834.4244 (P)

773.702.3193 (F)

gsmith2@babies.bsd.uchicago.edu

 

Treasurer

Donna Calvin PhD, FNP-BC,CNN

Lead Clinician- In Patient Diabetes Care

Cook County Health and Hospitals System-Division of Endocrinology

312-864-0548 (P)

dcalvin@cchil.org

 

Secretary

Lindsay A. Hemphill, MPH

Senior Consultant

Booz Allen Halmilton

230 Peachtree St, NW Suite 2100

Atlanta, GA 30303

770-488-8024 (P)

770-488-8488 (F)
lfa3@cdc.gov



Caucus on Homelessness
Est. 1990

Chair
Ben King
University Medical Center at Brackenridge
Dell Children’s Medical Center of Central Texas
Emergency Departments
6300 La Calma Dr., Suite 520
Austin, TX 78752
Phone: 512-324-7023
btking@seton.org

Program Chair
Molly Meinbresse, MPH
National Health Care for the Homeless Council, Inc.
PO Box 60427
Nashville, TN 37206
Office: (615) 226-2292 x 233
Fax: (615) 226-1656
mmeinbresse@nhchc.org
 
Membership Chair
Eric Rice, Ph.D.
School of Social Work
University of Southern California
1149 S. Hill St.
Suite 360
Los Angeles CA, 90015
Phone:(213) 743 - 4766
ericr@usc.edu

Council & Caucus Collaborative Liaison
Kathy Proctor, MPH MSHA
kathyproctor@nevhc.org
 
Policy Chair
Pia Valvassori, PhD



Caucus on Refugee and Immigrant Health

Chair

Titilayo A. Okoror, PhD

Associate Professor,  Public Health

SUNY Binghamton

Department of Africana Studies

4400 Vestal Parkway East

PO Box 6000

Binghamton, NY 13902-6000

tokoror@binghamton.edu

 

Program Chair

Guy-Lucien S. Whembolua, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 
Health Policy and Management
Department of Africana Studies
French Hall 3605 West
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0370
Phone:(513)556-2423
Email: 
gl.whembolua@uc.edu

 

Past Chair

Anthony Sallar, PhD
Assistant Professor
Ohio University 
College of Health Sciences
Grover Center E335
Athens, OH 45701


Caucus on Public Health and the Faith Community
, Est. 1996

Program Co-Chair
Dorine Brand, PhD, MPH
Public Health Department
University of Illinois at Springfield
Public Affairs Center 352
One University Plaza, M/S 309
Springfield, IL 62703
Phone: (217) 206-7874
dbrand5@uis.edu

Program Co-Chair
Jacqueline Tiema-Massie
Director of Planning, Research and Development
Chicago Department of Family and Support Services
1615 W. Chicago Ave, Room 532
Chicago IL. 60622
(312) 743-1496
Jackie.Tiema@cityofchicago.org

Secretary
Barbara T. Baylor, MPH
Minister for Health Care Justice
Justice & Witness Ministries
United Church of Christ
700 Prospect Ave.
Cleveland, OH 44115
216-736-3708 (P)
baylorb@ucc.org


Community-Based Public Health Caucus, Est. 2001

Chair
Mike Hernández
Public Health Consultant
Brooklyn, New York
Phone:917-304-9549  
michael_a_hernandez@hotmail.com


Past-Chair
Tara Hayden
Penn MARCH (Minority Aging for Community Health) Center
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Phone: 215-573-6637
thayden@mail.med.upenn.edu

Chair-Elect
Ella Greene-Moton
University of Michigan Sch of Public Health
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Phone: 202-320-1123
emgree@umich.edu
 

Membership Development Work Group
Connie Kizzie-Gillett, Co-Chair
Director
Lillie’s Care Circle
PO Box 78851
Los Angeles, California
Office: 323 -939-7465 
Cell: 323 447-6718
ckizgil@gmail.com

Erica Hall, Co-Chair
Assistant Secretary/Paralegal
Neighborhood Works America
1325 G St.
Washington DC 20005
Phone:202-220-2300
ehall@nw.org

Angela Young-Brinn, Past-Chair
JDP Foundation
Los Angeles, California
Phone: 424-249-0216
successfulangela@gmail.com


Policy Work Group
Chikezie Maduka,Co-Chair
Seat Pleasant—University of Maryland Health Partnership
Seat Pleasant, Maryland
Phone: 240-216-9796
chykemaduka@msn.com

Tricia Piechowski,Co-Chair
Community Engagement Coordinator
University of Michigan-MI Inst for Clinical & Hlth Rsch
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Phone: 734-998-7632
kwikwi@umich.edu

Communications Work Group
Renee Bayer, Co-Chair
Associate Director, Outreach & Partnerships
Michigan State University
CREATE for STEM Institute
115A Erickson Hall
Michigan State University
E. Lansing, MI  48824
http://create4stem.msu.edu
Phone: 734-223-5437
Work:517-432-0816
rbayer@umich.edu

Amar Kanekar , Past-Chair
University of Arkansas at Little Rock Little Rock, Arkansas
Ph 501-683-0512
axkanekar@ualr.edu

Finance Work Group
Janine Jurkowski, Co-Chair
Associate Professor
Department of Health Policy, Management, and Behavior, University at Albany School of Public Health
1 University Place, room 160
Rensselaer, New York 12144
Phone:518-402-0420 phone
Jjurkowski@albany.edu

Robert McGranaghan, Co-Chair
Community Liaison
Colorado Clinical & Translational Sciences Institute (CCTSI)
Department of Family Medicine
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, Mail Stop F496
Academic Office 1, 12631 E. 17th Avenue, Room 3113NE
Aurora, CO 80045
Cell: 734.358.0648
Office:303.724.7287
ROBERT.MCGRANAGHAN@ucdenver.edu

Program Planning
Mysha Wynn, Community Program Planner
Project Momentum, Inc.
Executive Director 
P.O. Box 4053
Rocky Mount, N.C. 27803
Phone:252-977-0765
projectmomentum@embarqmail.com

Larkin Strong, PhD, MPH; Academic Program Planner
Assistant Professor
Department of Health Disparities Research
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
PO Box 301402, Unit 1440
Houston, TX 77230-1402
Phone:713-563-8930
LLstrong@mdanderson.org

Jim Amell, Past-Program Planner
Assistant Professor
Colorado State University
School of Social Work
117 Education Building
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
Jim.Amell@Colostate.edu

National Community-Based Organization Network (NCBON)
Cynthia Seaborn
Health Educator
CRS Network, Inc
745 N Macomb
Tallahassee, FL  32303
Phone:(850) 251-2115
cynthia.seaborn@gmail.com

Family Violence Prevention Caucus, Est. 2013

Chair
Patricia M. Speck
Phone: 901/488-7723
pspeck@uthsc.edu

Chair-Elect
Carla Vandeweerd
Phone: 813-974-7773
cvandewe@health.usf.edu

Secretary/Treasurer
Susan Hadley
smchadley@gmail.com

Immediate Past-Chair
Peggy Goodman
Phone: 252-744-2959
GOODMANP@ecu.edu

Health Equity & Public Health Hospital Caucus, Est. 1981

Chair
Ramón Castellblanch, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
San Francisco State University
508 Laurel Ct.
Benicia, CA 94510
415-405-2151 (P)
ramonc@sfsu.edu

Planning Committee Chair
Gil Ojeda
CPAC Director
1950 Addison St, Ste 202
Berkeley, CA 94704-2647
(510) 643-3140 (P)
(510) 642-7861 (F)
cpac@berkeley.edu 
 
Labor Caucus

Chair
Jennifer Dorning, JD
Researcher and Representative
Department for Professional Employees, AFL-CIO
815 16th Street, NW, 7th Floor
Washington, DC 20006
202-638-0320 ext. 114
202-628-4379 (fax)
jdorning@dpeaflcio.org 


Latino Caucus, Est. 1973

President
Perfecto Muñoz, MA, PhD, MPH
Senior Policy Advisor on Consumer Health and the Workforce
UC Berkeley School of Public/California program On Access to Care
1950 Addison Street, Suite 203
Berkeley, California 94704
perfecto.munoz@berkeley.edu


Vice President
Brendaly Rodriguez, MA
Manager
Community Engagement and Cultural Diversity Program
Miami Clinical and Translational Science Institute
University of Miami
1120 NW 14th St., CRB 1005, Mail Stop C-202
Miami, FL 33136
Brodriguez@med.miami.edu
305-243-8433

Immediate Past President
Jose Pietro Aparicio, MD, MPH
Phone:(212)363-7309
DrJPAM@aol.com

Treasurer
Ana Carrichi, MS

Co-Secretaries
Carolina Lopez, BA
Arai Buendia, BS

Representative to the Caucus Collaborative
Brendaly Rodriguez, MA
Brodriguez@med.miami.edu

Latino Caucus Representative on the Governing Council
Perfecto Muñoz, MA, PhD, MPH
perfecto.munoz@berkeley.edu


Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Caucus of Public Health Professionals, Est. 1975

Chair
Derrick Matthews

chair@aphalgbt.org

Immediate Past Chair
Grant Farmer
immedpastchair@aphalgbt.org

Secretary 
Christina N. Dragon
secretary@aphalgbt.org

Membership Chair
Jennifer Jabson
membership@aphalgbt.org

Treasurer
John Grima 
treasurer@aphalgbt.org

Program Chair
Michael Shankle 
programchair@aphalgbt.org

Program Chair-Elect
Sel J. Hwahng
programchairelect@aphalgbt.org

Webmaster
Brandy Sinco 
webtech@aphalgbt.org

Student Chair 
Allegra Gordon
studentchair@aphalgbt.org

Public Relations Chair
Molly McKinney
publicrelations@aphalgbt.org

Policy Chair and Representative to the Caucus Collaborative
Jeff Goodman
policychair@aphalgbt.org



Men’s Health Caucus, Est. 2010

Chair
Salvatore Giorgianni, BSc, PharmD
Phone:615-460-6744
salgiorgianni@gmail.com

Chair-Elect
Stephen Petty
Phone:405-550-3766
Steve.Petty@Integris-Health.com

Secretary
Brandon Leonard
Phone:202-543-6461 ext 112
BrandonL@menshealthnetwork.net

Treasurer
Scott T. Williams
Phone:202-543-6461 ext. 103
scott@menshealthnetwork.org

Program Planner
Ana Fadich, MPH, CHES
Phone: 202-543-6461 ext 106
HealthyFamilies@menshealthnetwork.org

Communication/Membership Coordinator
Theresa Morrow
Phone: 202-580-5730
theresa.morrow@womenagainstprostatecancer.org

Policy Coordinator
Adam Dougherty
Phone: 925-890-7482
apdougherty@gmail.com 
 


Peace Caucus, Est. 1986

Chair
Robert M. Gould, MD
President
SF-Bay Area Chapter
Physicians for Social Responsibility
311 Douglass Street
San Francisco, CA 94114
(408) 972-7299 (P)
(408) 972-6429 (F)
rmgould1@yahoo.com

Program Chair
Kathleen Fagan, MD, MPH
Medical Officer, OSHA
902 Elmcroft Blvd
Rockville, MD 20850
(216)513-6155 (P)
occmeddoc@sbcglobal.net

Program Co-Chair
Patrice Sutton, MPH
Research Scientist
University of California San Francisco, Program on Reproductive Health and the Environment
(510)986-8927 (P)
psutton2000@yahoo.com 


Socialist Caucus, Est. 1976

Chair
Martha Livingston, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Public Health
Box 210
Old Westbury, New York 11568
516-876-2748 (P)
livingstonm@oldwestbury.edu

Program Chair
Johnathan S. Ross, MD, MPH
Director Ambulatory Internal Medicine
Mercy St. Vincent Medical Center
Toledo, Ohio 43608
Phone: 419.536.3879
drjohnross@ameritech.net 


Spirit of 1848 Caucus, Est. 1997

Chair
Nancy Krieger, PhD
Professor
Professor of Social Epidemiology
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Harvard School of Public Health
677 Huntington Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
Phone:(617) 432-1571
Fax:(617) 432-3123
nkrieger@hsph.harvard.edu

 

E-networking committee and Spirit of 1848 representative to the Caucus Collaborative and the Governing Council
Pam Waterman
Project Director
Harvard School of Public Health
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Landmark Center
401 park drive room 403-m
Boston, MA 02215
Phone:(617)384-8708
pwaterma@hsph.harvard.edu


Politics of Public Health Data Committee
Catherine Cubbin
Associate Professor
University of Texas at Austin
ccubbin@austin.utexas.edu

Vanessa Simonds
Assistant Professor
Department of Community and Behavioral Health
The University of Iowa, College of Public Health
Phone: 319-384-4384
vanessa-simonds@uiowa.edu

Social History of Public Health Committee
Samuel K. Roberts
Associate Professor of History and Sociomedical Sciences
Department of History
Columbia University (322 Fayerweather Hall)
New York City
Phone:  212-854-2430
skr2001@columbia.edu

Social History of Public Health Committee
Luis Avilés
Board Member
Statistics Institute Puerto Rico
Box 1177
Boqueron, PR 00622
laviles@upm.edu

Progressive Public Health Pedagogy Committee
Suzanne Christopher
Professor
Montana State University
Phone: 406-994-6321
suzanne@montana.edu

Progressive Public Health Pedagogy Committee
Lisa Moore
Associate Professor/Health Education
San Francisco State University
Phone:(415)338-2109
lisadee@sfsu.edu

Student Reps for Student Poster Session

Rebekka Lee
Department of Society, Human Development and Health
Harvard School of Public Health
Boston, MA
rlee@hsph.harvard.edu

Tabashir Sadegh-Nobari
Department of Community Health Sciences
University of California at Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA
tabashir@ucla.edu

Allegra Gordon
Department of Society, Human Development and Health
Harvard School of Public Health
Boston, MA
agordon@hsph.harvard.edu


Vietnam Caucus, Est. 1990

Chair and Program Planner
Arnold Schecter, MD, MPH
University of Texas School of Public Health, Dallas Campus
Division of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences
5323 Harry Hines Blvd, 8th floor
Dallas, Texas 75390
(214)336-8519 (P)
arnold.schecter@utsouthwestern.edu  

Program Planner Co-Chair
James H. Miller, Master of Public Health Candidate 2012
james.miller@utsouthwestern.edu


Women's Caucus, Est. 1970

Chair
Jill Oliveri, MPH, DrPH
Clinical Research Manager
Comprehensive Cancer Center
The Ohio State University
1590 N. High Street, Suite 525
Columbus, Ohio 43201
Office: (614) 293-8174 (P)
Fax: (614) 293-5611 (F)
jill.oliveri@osumc.edu

Immediate Past Chair
Heather M. Brandt, PhD, CHES
University of South Carolina
800 Sumpter St HESC
Columbia, South Carolina 29208
Phone: 803-777-7096
Fax:803-777-6290
hbrandt@sc.edu

Chair-Elect
Sarah Gareau, DrPH
Assistant Professor
Health, Exercise & Sport Science
Lenoir-Rhyne University
PO Box 7158
Hickory, North Carolina 28603
Phone: (828) 328-7788
Fax: (828) 267-3445
gareau@mailbox.sc.edu

Policy Chair
Kim Nichols Dauner, PhD, MPH
Senior Research Associate and Adjunct Faculty
Department of Health, Physical Education and Recreation
Health Care Management Program
University of Minnesota Duluth
4302 Luverne Street
Duluth, MN 55804
kdauner@d.umn.edu

Program Co-Chair
Jill Oliveri, MPH, DrPH
Clinical Research Manager
Comprehensive Cancer Center
The Ohio State University
1590 N. High Street, Suite 525
Columbus, Ohio 43201
Phone: (614) 293-8174 (P)
Fax: (614) 293-5611 (F)
jill.oliveri@osumc.edu




APHA Staff Liaison to Caucuses
Lavanya Gupta
Component Affairs Coordinator
American Public Health Association
800 I Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001-3710
Phone: 202-777-2461
Fax: 202-777-2533
lavanya.gupta@apha.org