2013 APHA Caucus Leadership Roster

E-mail your comments or corrections to  Lavanya Gupta   

Click to View Caucus Leadership Roster
Academic Public Health Caucus
American Indian, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Caucus
Asian Pacific Islander Caucus for Public Health
Black Caucus of Health Workers
Caucus on Homelessness
Caucus on Public Health and the Faith Community
Caucus on Refugee and Immigrant Health
Community-Based Public Health Caucus
Health Equity and Public Health Hospital Caucus
Labor Caucus
Latino Caucus
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Caucus of Public Health Professionals
Men's Health Caucus
Peace Caucus
Socialist Caucus
Spirit of 1848
Vietnam Caucus
Women’s Caucus

Academic Public Health Caucus, Est. 1994

Chair
Jose Cordero, MD
Dean, School of Public Health
University of Puerto Rico
Medical Sciences Campus, PO Box 365067
San Juan, PR  00936-5067
Phone:(404) 285-2138
jose.cordero6@upr.edu

Program Chair
Dr. Joel Lee
joellee@uga.edu

Governing Council Representative
Dr. Deanna Wathington
dwathing@health.usf.edu

Communications and Special Projects
Dr. Connie Evashwick
evashwick@gmail.com



American Indian, Alaska Native & Native Hawaiian Caucus, Est. 1981 

Chair
Nancy Bill, MPH, CHES (Navajo) 2012-2014
CAPTAIN, USPHS
Injury Prevention Manager
Indian Health Service, OEHE-EHS
801 Thompson, TMP 610
Rockville MD 20852
Phone: 301-443-0105
nancy.bill@ihs.gov
 
Immediate Past Chair
Kamahanahokulani Farrar
Department of Health and Human Services
CMS/Office of E-Health Standards and Services (OESS)
7500 Security Blvd
Baltimore, MD 21244
kamahanahokulani@gmail.com

Secretary
Virginia Q Hedrick (Yurok/Karuk)
Outreach Coordinator
California Tribal Epidemiology Center
California Rural Indian Health Board
4400 Auburn Blvd, 2nd Floor
Sacramento CA 95841
Phone:(916) 929-9761
virginia.hedrick@crihb.net
 
Treasurer
Patricia Cochran
Executive Director
Alaska Native Science Commission
PO Box 242792
Anchorage, AK 99524
pcochran@aknsc.org

Newsletter and Website
Meghan Jernigan
Research Scientist
University of Washington
4616 Interlake Ave N
Seattle, WA 98103
meghanjernigan@gmail.com 

Program Co- Chairs
Deana Around Him
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
120 S. Washington St., Apt. B,
Baltimore, MD 21231
deanawagner@gmail.com
 
Audrey Solimon
Health System Specialist
Indian Health Service (IHS/DHHS)
5300 Homestead Rd. NE,
Albuquerque, NM  87110
solimon20@gmail.com
 
Membership
Bonney Hartley, MSocSci
Program Director, Community Services
Community Wellness Department
Native American Health Center
3124 International Blvd., Oakland CA 94601
Phone: 510.434.5444
bonneyh@nativehealth.org
 
Development
Lillian Tom-Orme, Ph.D., MPH, RN, FAAN
Research Assistant Professor
Division of Epidemiology
University of Utah
295 Chipeta Way
Salt Lake City, UT 84132
Phone:(801) 585-5246
Lillian.Tomorme@hsc.utah.edu



Asian Pacific Islander Caucus for Public Health, Est. 1974

Chair
Alek Sripipatana, PhD, MPH
Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander Health Advisor and Liaison,
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
chair@apicaucus.org
 
Chair-Elect
Kawika Liu, MD, PhD, JD
Medical Director
Molokai Community Health Center
chairelect@apicaucus.org

Membership Chair
Corina Chung
Corina Chung
Research Assistant
Asian & Pacific Islander American Health Forum
membership@apicaucus.org
 
Communications Chair
Vishnu Nepal, MSc, MPH
Epidemiologist
Houston Department of Health and Human Services
communications@apicaucus.org

Policy Chair
Elena Ong, PHN, MS
Coro Executive Fellow
policy@apicaucus.org

API Caucus Liaison to APHA Caucus Collaborative
Elena Ong, PHN, MS
Coro Executive Fellow
policy@apicaucus.org

Program Chair
Luceli Cuasay, DrPH, MPH
Senior Biostatistician
Westat
program@apicaucus.org

Program Chair-Elect
Aimee Afable-Munsuz, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor
School of Public Health
State University of New York (SUNY), Downstate Medical Center
programelect@apicaucus.org

Secretary
Lan Doan, MPH, CPH
Project Director
University of California, San Francisco
secretary@apicaucus.org

Student Representative (1-year term)
Amanda Kimura, MPHc
Master of Public Health candidate
University of Washington
School of Public Health
studentrep1@apicaucus.org

Student Representative  (2-year term)
Wei Perng, PhD Candidate
University of Michigan School of Public Health
studentrep2@apicaucus.org

Treasurer
Perry Chan
Senior Program Coordinator
Asian American Health Initiative
treasurer@apicaucus.org 
 
Caucus Councilors
Doug Hirano, MPH
Executive Director
Asian Pacific Community in Action
caucuscouncilor1@apicaucus.org

Angela Sy, DrPH
Assistant Professor
Department of Public Health Sciences
John A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawaii at Manoa
caucuscouncilor2@apicaucus.org
 
Chari Cohen, MPH, DrPH(c)
Director of Public Health
Hepatitis B Foundation
caucuscouncilor3@apicaucus.org



Black Caucus of Health Workers, Est. 1968

President
Selena Smith, MPA
National Board Coordinator
Director of Operations-Fiscal Manager
University of Illinois at Chicago
School of Public Health
Urban Health and Diversity Program Office
1603 W. Taylor, Ste 1186
Chicago, IL 60612
312-413-4288 (P)
312-355-2556 (F)
seas@uic.edu

Immediate Past President
Jill Dingle, MPH
Associate Director
Primary Care Section
New York State Department of Health
AIDS Institute
(212)417-4773 (P)
(212)417-4771 (F)
jwd03@health.state.ny.us


Vice-President
George R. Smith, Jr., MPH
Community Relations Director
Center for Community Health and Vitality
Urban Health Initiative
The University of Chicago
950 East 61st Street, MC 1119, Room 228
Chicago, Illinois 60637-1470
773.834.4244 (P)
773.702.3193 (F)
gsmith2@babies.bsd.uchicago.edu

Treasurer
Donna Calvin PhD, FNP-BC,CNN
Lead Clinician- In Patient Diabetes Care
Cook County Health and Hospitals System-Division of Endocrinology
312-864-0548 (P)
dcalvin@cchil.org

Secretary
Lindsay A. Hemphill, MPH
Senior Consultant
Booz Allen Halmilton
230 Peachtree St, NW Suite 2100
Atlanta, GA 30303
770-488-8024 (P)
770-488-8488 (F)
lfa3@cdc.gov 



Caucus on Homelessness, Est. 1990

Chair
Ben King
University Medical Center at Brackenridge
Dell Children’s Medical Center of Central Texas
Emergency Departments
6300 La Calma Dr., Suite 520
Austin, TX 78752
Phone: 512-324-7023
btking@seton.org

Program Chair
Molly Meinbresse, MPH
National Health Care for the Homeless Council, Inc.
PO Box 60427
Nashville, TN 37206
Office: (615) 226-2292 x 233
Fax: (615) 226-1656
mmeinbresse@nhchc.org
 
Membership Chair
Eric Rice, Ph.D.
School of Social Work
University of Southern California
1149 S. Hill St.
Suite 360
Los Angeles CA, 90015
Phone:(213) 743 - 4766
ericr@usc.edu

Council & Caucus Collaborative Liaison
Kathy Proctor, MPH MSHA
kathyproctor@nevhc.org
 
Policy Chair
Pia Valvassori, PhD



Caucus on Refugee and Immigrant Health

Chair 
Anthony Sallar, PhD
Assistant Professor
Ohio University
College of Health Sciences
Grover Center E335
Athens, OH 45701
(740)593-0528 (P)
sallar@ohio.edu


Past Chair
Heike Thiel de Bocanegra, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Assistant Professor and Director, UCSF Family PACT Evaluation
Bixby Center for Global Reproductive Health
Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences
University of California, San Francisco
heike.thiel@dhcs.ca.gov

Program Chair
Titilayo A Okoror, PhD
Associate Professor,  Public Health
Director, Undergraduate Program
SUNY Binghamton
Department of Africana Studies
4400 Vestal Parkway East
PO Box 6000
Binghamton, NY 13902-6000
tokoror@binghamton.edu

Secretary
Michael Lyons
mlyon01@comcast.net


Caucus on Public Health and the Faith Community
, Est. 1996

Secretary
Barbara T. Baylor, MPH
Minister for Health Care Justice
Justice & Witness Ministries
United Church of Christ
700 Prospect Ave.
Cleveland, OH 44115
216-736-3708 (P)
baylorb@ucc.org
 
Program Co-chairs
Dorine Brand, PhD, MPH
Public Health Department
University of Illinois at Springfield
Public Affairs Center 352
One University Plaza, M/S 309
Springfield, IL 62703
Phone: (217) 206-7874
dbrand5@uis.edu

Jacqueline Tiema-Massie, MPH
Bureau of Public Health Preparedness and Emergency Response
Chicago Department of Public Health
DePaul Center, Suite 200
333 S. State Street
Chicago, IL 60604
Phone: (312) 747-9630
jackie.tiema@cityofchicago.org


Community-Based Public Health Caucus, Est. 2001

Chair
Mike Hernández
Public Health Consultant
Brooklyn, New York
Phone:917-304-9549  
michael_a_hernandez@hotmail.com


Past-Chair
Tara Hayden
Penn MARCH (Minority Aging for Community Health) Center
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Phone: 215-573-6637
thayden@mail.med.upenn.edu

Chair-Elect
Ella Greene-Moton
University of Michigan Sch of Public Health
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Phone: 202-320-1123
emgree@umich.edu
 

Membership Development Work Group
Connie Kizzie-Gillett, Co-Chair
Director
Lillie’s Care Circle
PO Box 78851
Los Angeles, California
Office: 323 -939-7465 
Cell: 323 447-6718
ckizgil@gmail.com

Erica Hall, Co-Chair
Assistant Secretary/Paralegal
Neighborhood Works America
1325 G St.
Washington DC 20005
Phone:202-220-2300
ehall@nw.org

Angela Young-Brinn, Past-Chair
JDP Foundation
Los Angeles, California
Phone: 424-249-0216
successfulangela@gmail.com


Policy Work Group
Chikezie Maduka,Co-Chair
Seat Pleasant—University of Maryland Health Partnership
Seat Pleasant, Maryland
Phone: 240-216-9796
chykemaduka@msn.com

Tricia Piechowski,Co-Chair
Community Engagement Coordinator
University of Michigan-MI Inst for Clinical & Hlth Rsch
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Phone: 734-998-7632
kwikwi@umich.edu

Communications Work Group
Renee Bayer, Co-Chair
Associate Director, Outreach & Partnerships
Michigan State University
CREATE for STEM Institute
115A Erickson Hall
Michigan State University
E. Lansing, MI  48824
http://create4stem.msu.edu
Phone: 734-223-5437
Work:517-432-0816
rbayer@umich.edu

Amar Kanekar , Past-Chair
University of Arkansas at Little Rock Little Rock, Arkansas
Ph 501-683-0512
axkanekar@ualr.edu

Finance Work Group
Janine Jurkowski, Co-Chair
Associate Professor
Department of Health Policy, Management, and Behavior, University at Albany School of Public Health
1 University Place, room 160
Rensselaer, New York 12144
Phone:518-402-0420 phone
Jjurkowski@albany.edu

Robert McGranaghan, Co-Chair
Community Liaison
Colorado Clinical & Translational Sciences Institute (CCTSI)
Department of Family Medicine
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, Mail Stop F496
Academic Office 1, 12631 E. 17th Avenue, Room 3113NE
Aurora, CO 80045
Cell: 734.358.0648
Office:303.724.7287
ROBERT.MCGRANAGHAN@ucdenver.edu

Program Planning
Mysha Wynn, Community Program Planner
Project Momentum, Inc.
Executive Director 
P.O. Box 4053
Rocky Mount, N.C. 27803
Phone:252-977-0765
projectmomentum@embarqmail.com

Larkin Strong, PhD, MPH; Academic Program Planner
Assistant Professor
Department of Health Disparities Research
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
PO Box 301402, Unit 1440
Houston, TX 77230-1402
Phone:713-563-8930
LLstrong@mdanderson.org

Jim Amell, Past-Program Planner
Assistant Professor
Colorado State University
School of Social Work
117 Education Building
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
Jim.Amell@Colostate.edu

National Community-Based Organization Network (NCBON)
Cynthia Seaborn
Health Educator
CRS Network, Inc
745 N Macomb
Tallahassee, FL  32303
Phone:(850) 251-2115
cynthia.seaborn@gmail.com


Health Equity & Public Health Hospital Caucus, Est. 1981

Chair
Ramón Castellblanch, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
San Francisco State University
508 Laurel Ct.
Benicia, CA 94510
415-405-2151 (P)
ramonc@sfsu.edu

Planning Committee Chair
Gil Ojeda
CPAC Director
1950 Addison St, Ste 202
Berkeley, CA 94704-2647
(510) 643-3140 (P)
(510) 642-7861 (F)
cpac@berkeley.edu 
 
Labor Caucus

Chair
Jennifer Dorning, JD
Researcher and Representative
Department for Professional Employees, AFL-CIO
815 16th Street, NW, 7th Floor
Washington, DC 20006
202-638-0320 ext. 114
202-628-4379 (fax)
jdorning@dpeaflcio.org 


Latino Caucus, Est. 1973

President
Jose Pietro Aparicio, MD, MPH
Phone:(212)363-7309
DrJPAM@aol.com

Co-Vice President
Perfecto Muñoz. MA, PhD, MPH;
Perfecto.Munoz@berkeley.edu

Co-Vice President
Brendaly Rodriguez, MA
brodrgz@yahoo.com

Immediate Past President
Miryam C. Gerdine, MPH
Public Health Analyst
Office of Health Information Technology and Quality (OHITQ)
Office of Special Health Affairs/HRSA
U.S.  Department of Health and Human Services
5600 Fishers Lane, 7C-26
Rockville, MD 20857
(301) 443-6760
(202) 270-7222
miryam.gerdine@yahoo.com


Treasurer
Ana Carrichi, MS

Co-Secretaries
Carolina Lopez, BA
Arai Buendia, Health Education BS


Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Caucus of Public Health Professionals, Est. 1975

Chair
Grant Farmer
gfarmer1@slu.edu

Chair-Elect
Derrick Mathews
derrick.matthews@unc.edu

Secretary 
Christina N. Dragon

Membership
David Moskowitz 
david.moskowitz@utsa.edu

Treasurer
John Grima 
jfjtg@aol.com

Program Chair
Michael Shankle 
michael.shankle@gmail.com

Program Chair-Elect
Sel J. Hwahng
sw2211@columbia.edu

Website Chair
Brandy Sinco 
brsinco@umich.edu

Student Chair 
Molly McKinney

Public Relations Chair
Tom Hughes 
THughes@ipha.com


Men’s Health Caucus, Est. 2010

Chair
Salvatore Giorgianni, BSc, PharmD
Phone:615-460-6744
salgiorgianni@gmail.com

Chair-Elect
Stephen Petty
Phone:405-550-3766
Steve.Petty@Integris-Health.com

Secretary
Brandon Leonard
Phone:202-543-6461 ext 112
BrandonL@menshealthnetwork.net

Treasurer
Scott T. Williams
Phone:202-543-6461 ext. 103
scott@menshealthnetwork.org

Program Planner
Ana Fadich, MPH, CHES
Phone: 202-543-6461 ext 106
HealthyFamilies@menshealthnetwork.org

Communication/Membership Coordinator
Theresa Morrow
Phone: 202-580-5730
theresa.morrow@womenagainstprostatecancer.org

Policy Coordinator
Adam Dougherty
Phone: 925-890-7482
apdougherty@gmail.com 
 


Peace Caucus, Est. 1986

Chair
Robert M. Gould, MD
President
SF-Bay Area Chapter
Physicians for Social Responsibility
311 Douglass Street
San Francisco, CA 94114
(408) 972-7299 (P)
(408) 972-6429 (F)
rmgould1@yahoo.com

Program Chair
Kathleen Fagan, MD, MPH
Medical Officer, OSHA
902 Elmcroft Blvd
Rockville, MD 20850
(216)513-6155 (P)
occmeddoc@sbcglobal.net

Program Co-Chair
Patrice Sutton, MPH
Research Scientist
University of California San Francisco, Program on Reproductive Health and the Environment
(510)986-8927 (P)
psutton2000@yahoo.com 


Socialist Caucus, Est. 1976

Chair
Martha Livingston, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Public Health
Box 210
Old Westbury, New York 11568
516-876-2748 (P)
livingstonm@oldwestbury.edu

Program Chair
Johnathan S. Ross, MD, MPH
Director Ambulatory Internal Medicine
Mercy St. Vincent Medical Center
Toledo, Ohio 43608
Phone: 419.536.3879
drjohnross@ameritech.net 


Spirit of 1848 Caucus, Est. 1997

Chair
Nancy Krieger, PhD
Professor
Dept of Society, Human Development, and Health
677 Huntington Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
Phone:(617) 432-1571
Fax:(617) 432-3123
nkrieger@hsph.harvard.edu

E-networking committee and Spirit of 1848 representative to the Caucus Collaborative and the Governing Council
Pam Waterman
Project Director
Harvard School of Public Health
Landmark Center
401 park drive room 403-m
Boston, MA 02215
Phone:(617)384-8708
pwaterma@hsph.harvard.edu


Politics of Public Health Data Committee
Catherine Cubbin
Associate Professor
University of Texas at Austin
ccubbin@austin.utexas.edu

Vanessa Simonds
Assistant Professor
Department of Community and Behavioral Health
The University of Iowa, College of Public Health
Phone: 319-384-4384
vanessa-simonds@uiowa.edu

Social History of Public Health Committee
Samuel K. Roberts
Associate Professor of History and Sociomedical Sciences
Department of History
Columbia University (322 Fayerweather Hall)
New York City
Phone:  212-854-2430
skr2001@columbia.edu

Social History of Public Health Committee
Luis Avilés
Board Member
Statistics Institute Puerto Rico
Box 1177
Boqueron, PR 00622
laviles@upm.edu

Progressive Public Health Pedagogy Committee
Suzanne Christopher
Professor
Montana State University
Phone: 406-994-6321
suzanne@montana.edu

Progressive Public Health Pedagogy Committee
Lisa Moore
Associate Professor/Health Education
San Francisco State University
Phone:(415)338-2109
lisadee@sfsu.edu

Student Reps for Student Poster Session

Rebekka Lee
Department of Society, Human Development and Health
Harvard School of Public Health
Boston, MA
rlee@hsph.harvard.edu

Tabashir Sadegh-Nobari
Department of Community Health Sciences
University of California at Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA
tabashir@ucla.edu

Allegra Gordon
Department of Society, Human Development and Health
Harvard School of Public Health
Boston, MA
agordon@hsph.harvard.edu


Vietnam Caucus, Est. 1990

Chair and Program Planner
Arnold Schecter, MD, MPH
University of Texas School of Public Health, Dallas Campus
Division of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences
5323 Harry Hines Blvd, 8th floor
Dallas, Texas 75390
(214)336-8519 (P)
arnold.schecter@utsouthwestern.edu  

Program Planner Co-Chair
James H. Miller, Master of Public Health Candidate 2012
james.miller@utsouthwestern.edu


Women's Caucus, Est. 1970

Chair
Jill Oliveri, MPH, DrPH
Clinical Research Manager
Comprehensive Cancer Center
The Ohio State University
1590 N. High Street, Suite 525
Columbus, Ohio 43201
Office: (614) 293-8174 (P)
Fax: (614) 293-5611 (F)
jill.oliveri@osumc.edu

Immediate Past Chair
Heather M. Brandt, PhD, CHES
University of South Carolina
800 Sumpter St HESC
Columbia, South Carolina 29208
Phone: 803-777-7096
Fax:803-777-6290
hbrandt@sc.edu

Chair-Elect
Sarah Gareau, DrPH
Assistant Professor
Health, Exercise & Sport Science
Lenoir-Rhyne University
PO Box 7158
Hickory, North Carolina 28603
Phone: (828) 328-7788
Fax: (828) 267-3445
gareau@mailbox.sc.edu

Policy Chair
Kim Nichols Dauner, PhD, MPH
Senior Research Associate and Adjunct Faculty
Department of Health, Physical Education and Recreation
Health Care Management Program
University of Minnesota Duluth
4302 Luverne Street
Duluth, MN 55804
kdauner@d.umn.edu

Program Co-Chair
Jessica D. Bellinger, PhD, MPH
Research Assistant Professor
South Carolina Rural Health Research Center
Arnold School of Public Health
University of South Carolina
220 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 204
Columbia, SC 29210
Phone: 803.251.6317
Fax: 803.251.6399
bellingj@mailbox.sc.edu

Program Co-Chair
Jill Oliveri, MPH, DrPH
Clinical Research Manager
Comprehensive Cancer Center
The Ohio State University
1590 N. High Street, Suite 525
Columbus, Ohio 43201
Phone: (614) 293-8174 (P)
Fax: (614) 293-5611 (F)
jill.oliveri@osumc.edu


Membership Chair
Minnjuan Flournoy, PhD(c)
Doctoral Candidate, Graduate Research & Teaching Assistant
Department of Health Services, Policy & Management
Arnold School of Public Health
University of South Carolina
Institute for Partnerships to Eliminate Health Disparities
220 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 208
Columbia, SC 29210
flournoy@email.sc.edu



APHA Staff Liaison to Caucuses
Lavanya Gupta
Component Affairs Coordinator
American Public Health Association
800 I Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001-3710
Phone: 202-777-2461
Fax: 202-777-2533
lavanya.gupta@apha.org